Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Criminal Justice Resources: Handbooks

Reference Tools

Reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, manuals, handbooks, and much more. Reference books can help you

  1. explore a topic (find out what has been said about a topic, trends, issues, etc.
  2. identify unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
  3. find references to other books and articles on the topic, and
  4. find keywords to use in online searches.

This page pulls together a sample of both electronic and print reference tools.

Online Reference Tools

If you don't know where to start, you may want to try one of the following online compilations of reference tools:

Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Includes encyclopedic articles on historical and contemporary Natie American research topics.

Sage Reference Online.

Search all titles in the collection, encyclopedias only, handbooks only, or search criminology and criminal justice titles only.

Oxford Reference Online.

Contains online versions of dictionaries and encyclopedias previously published in paper by the Oxford University Press.

Crime Statistics

Interested in criminal justics statistics or data?  Visit http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/crimestats

Selected Handbooks

Blackwell Companion to Criminology / edited by Colin Sumner ; advisory editor William J. Chambliss.  [Malden, Mass.] : Blackwell Publishing, [2004]   HV6025 .B544 2004a Online : Provides a contemporary and global resource to scholarship in both classical and topical areas of criminology. Written accessibly, and with its international perspective and first-rate scholarship, this is truly the first global handbook of criminology. Editors and contributors are international experts in criminology, offering a comparative perspective on theories and systems.  Contains full discussion of key debates and theories, the implications of new topics, studies and ideas, and contemporary developments.  Coverage includes: class, gender, and race, criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, punishment, mass media, international crimes, and social control.

Conducting Research in FBI Records / Federal Bureau of Investigation, Office of Public Affairs, Research/Drug Demand Reduction Unit. Washington, D.C. : GPO, 1990 Main Library HV6775 .C6 1990  : Designed to assist people interested in conducting research concerning the FBI. Identifies contacts to officials, agencies, and centers that can provide additional assistance.

Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on American Criminal Justice / Patricia G. Barnes.  Washington, D.C. : Congressional Quarterly Press, 2001. 362pp. Main Library HV9950 .B364 2001 : Over 500 answers to frequently asked questions from law enforcement to corrections.

Covering Criminal Justice : a Resource Guide for Journalists / The Center on Crime, Communities & Culture and the Columbia Journalism Review. New York : the Center on Crime, Communities & Culture, 2000. 53pp.  Main Library  HV9950 .C676 2000 : "Crime reporting that goes beyond the basic facts is a challenge, especially given that many journalists face constraints on time and space and pressure to boost ratings and circulation. This resource guide is intended to help journalists in the trenches broaden the scope of their coverage."

Crime and Justice Atlas 2000  / Washinngton, D.C. : Prepared by the Justice Research and Statistics Association for the U.S. Department of Justice.  HV9950 .C756 2000 Online Resource : Includes updated data on state and national trends in crime, sentencing and corrections, a series of graphs depicting long-term (30-100 year) trends in crime and sentencing, along with a series of policy papers on a variety of topics written by experts in sentencing and corrections.

Crime in America : A Reference Handbook / Jennifer L. Durham. Santa Barbara, Ca. : ABC-CLIO, 1996. 318pp. Main Library HV6787 .D87 1996 (An electronic version is also available.) :  Includes an overview of the crime problem, biographical sketches of criminologists and law enforcement officials, a directory of private, state, and federal organizations, and chapters on print resources (books and documents) and nonprint resources (audiovisuals, web sites, electronic bulletin boards, and computer databases).

Domestic Violence and Child Abuse Sourcebook / Helene Henderson, ed. Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, 2000. 1st edition, 1064pp. Main Library HV6626.2 .D663 2000 : Basic consumer health information about spousal/partner, child, sibling, parent, and elder abuse, covering physical, emotional and sexual abuse, teen dating violence, and stalking; includes information about hotlines, safe houses, safety plans, and other resources for support and assistance, community initiatives, and reports on current directions in research and treatment along with a glossary, sources for further reading, and governmental and non-governmental contact information.

Drug Abuse Sourcebook / Karen Bellenir, ed. Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, c2000. 629pp. Main Library HV5801 .D724 2000 : Basic consumer health information about illicit substances of abuse and the diversion of prescription medications, including depressants, hallucinogens, inhalants, marijuana, narcotics, stimulants, and anabolic steroids : along with facts about related health risks, treatment issues, and substance abuse prevention programs, a glossary of terms, statistical data, and directories of hotline services, self-help groups, and organizations able to provide further information.

The FBI : a Comprehensive Reference Guide / Athan G. Theoharis with Tony G. Poveda, Susan Rosenfeld, Richard Gid Powers. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1999. 409pp.  Main Library HV8144.F43 T48 1999 : Also available electronically through Electronic Books (NetLibrary) : Contents: Brief history -- Notable cases -- Controversies and issues -- FBI oversight and liaison relationships -- Traditions and culture -- Organization and day-to-day activities -- Buildings and physical plant -- The FBI in American popular culture -- Biographies -- Chronology of key events.

FBI Handbook of Crime Scene Forensics / New York : Skyhorse Publishing, 2008. 196pp. Main Library HV8073 .F35 2008 : The official procedural guide for law enforcement agencies, attorneys, and tribunals submitting evidence to the FBI. This handbook outlines the proper methods for investigating crime scenes, examining evidence (bullets, computers, hairs, inks, lubricants, ropes, shoeprints, tire treads, weapons of mass destruction, and more), packing and shipping evidence to the FBI, and observing safety protocol at hazardous crime scenes. At once a guide for professional forensics experts and an introduction for laymen, the FBI Handbook of Crime Scene Forensics makes perfect reading for fans of Cold Case, Silent Witness, and the Law & Order and CSI franchises, and anyone with an interest in investigative police work and the criminal justice system.

Handbook of Crime & Punishment / Michael Tonry, ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 1998. 803pp. Main Library HV6789 .H25 1998 : Table of contents: Introduction : crime and punishment in America / Michael Tonry -- Crime, criminal justice, and public opinion / Julian V. Roberts and Loretta J. Stalans -- Minorities, crime, and criminal justice / Janet L. Lauritsen and Robert J. Sampson -- Gender, crime, and criminology / Kathleen Daly -- Street gangs / Malcolm W. Klein -- White-collar crime / Neal Shover -- Organized crime / James B. Jacobs and Christopher Panarella -- Family violence / Richard J. Gelles -- Drug control / Robert MacCoun and Peter Reuter -- Individual differences and offending / David P. Farrington -- Communities and crime / Per-Olof H. Wikström -- Economic conditions, work, and crime / Anne Morrison Piehl -- Restorative justice / John Braithwaite -- Deterrence and incapacitation / Daniel S. Nagin -- Crime prevention / Trevor Bennett -- Treatment of sex offenders / Vernon L. Quinsey -- American policing / Lawrence W. Sherman -- Prosecution / Candace McCoy -- Jails / Richard S. Frase -- Juvenile court / Barry C. Feld -- Sentencing / Kevin R. Reitz -- Probation and parole / Joan Petersilia -- Prisons / Roy D. King -- Private prisons / Richard W. Harding -- Penal theories / Andrew von Hirsch -- Intermediate sanctions / Michael Tonry -- Correctional treatment / Gerald G. Gaes -- Capital punishment / Roger Hood.

Handbook of Criminal Justice Administration / M.A. DuPont-Morales, Michael K. Hooper, Judy H. Schmidt, eds. New York : Marcel Dekker, c2001. 501pp. Main Library HV7419 .H37 2001: Table of contents:

  • The ethics of criminal justice administration / Laura B. Myers
  • Trends in crime / Neal Slone
  • A history of criminological thought : explanations for crime and delinquency / Barbara Sims
  • Comparative criminal justice / Mathieu Deflem and Amanda J. Swygart
  • Community policing : past, present, and future / W.T. Jordan and Mary Ann Zager
  • Managing criminal investigation / Brian Forst
  • Traffic operations / Michael E. Donahue and Don A. Josi
  • Use of force by law enforcement officers / Greg Meyer
  • Civil disorder and policing / Michael K. Hooper
  • Criminal law / Craig Hemmens
  • Criminal procedure / Craig Hemmens
  • Criminal trial process / Janice Schuetz
  • Evolution of court management / Kevin Lee Derr
  • Evolution of the correctional process / Peter M. Wickman and Korni Swaroop Kumar
  • Probation / Tammy A. King
  • Alternatives to incarceration / Rachel Porter
  • Prisoner rights / Katherine J. Bennett and Craig Hemmens
  • Correctional administration and Section 1983 liability issues / Darrell L. Ross
  • Jail administration and management / Kenneth E. Kerle
  • Publicized executions and the incidence of homicide : methodological sources of inconsistent findings / Steven Stack
  • Victimology / M.A. DuPont-Morales
  • Workplace violence : prevention and threat assessment / Michael K. Hooper
  • Future trends in addressing and preventing domestic violence : the role of domestic violence coalitions / Bernadette T. Muscat
  • Organized crime / Jeffrey P. Rush and Gregory P. Orvis
  • White collar crime / Richard A. Ball
  • Terrorism and the American system of criminal justice / Brent L. Smith, Kelly R. Damphousse, and Amy Karlson
  • Environmental crime and justice / Nanci Koser Wilson
  • Technology in criminal justice administration / Valeria Coleman

Handbook of Scales for Research in Crime and Delinquency / Stanley L. Brodsky and H. O'Neal Smitherman. New York : Plenum Press, c1983. 615pp. (2 copies available) Main Library HV9274 .B76 1983 : This work contains evaluative information about crime and delinquency research instruments. Many relevant crime and delinquency scales and research studies are identified, copies of the scale items are included with concise evaluations on each item.

Handbook of The Police, Highway Patrols, and Investigative Agencies / Donald A. Torres. New York, N.Y. : Greenwood Press, 1987. 375pp. Main Library HV7965 .T67 1987 : The first part comprises information on historical concepts, the relationship of the federal, state, county, and municipal agencies in law enforcement, and the establishment of the various state-level enforcement agencies; several examples of state police, highway patrol, and state investigative agency jurisdictions; information on the number and size of the various state police, highway patrols, and investigative agencies; general background information on state enforcement systems; and photographs showing the 3 general styles of uniforms worn by state police or highway patrols. The second part consists of photographs of badges and patches. Part three contains historical and organizational structure data, statistics, and information pertaining to functions, headquarters and regional locations, and training and hiring qualifications for sworn members of each state police, highway patrol, or state investigative agency in the United States.

The Historical Atlas of American Crime / Fred Rosen.  New York : Facts on File, c2005. 296pp. Main Library  HV6779 .R67 2005 : Emphasizing cases that were the first of their kind, new types of crime, and crimes peculiar to certain regions, a geographic overview of crime in America demonstrates how geography, shifting populations, Western expansion, and technology have shaped crime and the development of American society.

The Law Enforcement Handbook / Desmond Rowland and James Bailey. New York, N.Y. : Facts on File, 1985. Main Library HV8031 .R69 1985 : Provides the basic grounding a police officer requires to perform effectively while carrying out his duties as patrol officer or criminal investigator. Chapter titles include:

  • Working the Streets
  • On the Record
  • Responding to Emergencies
  • Stopping and Searching Vehicles
  • Traffic Accident Investigation
  • Hazards and Disasters
  • Street Psychology
  • Suspect Interrogation
  • The Crime Scene
  • Forensic Science
  • Handling Complex Investigations
  • Raids and Searches
  • Surveillance
  • Internal Theft Investigation
  • Crime by Computer
  • In the Witness Box
  • Job Stress

National Gangs Resource Handbook: An Encyclopedic Reference : George W. Knox, Director, National Gang Research Center. Bristol, IN : Wyndham Hall Press, 1994.  Main Library HV6439 .U5 K663 1994 : Contents: Understanding gangs, Primary bibliography on gangs, Secondary bibliography on gangs, Major gangs' constitutions, National gangs directory, and the Streetgang Terrorism Omnibus Prevention Act.

The Oxford Handbook of Crime and Criminal Justice / [edited by] Michael Tonry.. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2011.  978pp. Main Library HV9950 .O94 2011 :  Provides a comprehensive introduction to and an overview of the operation of the American criminal justice system. It is divided into five sections covering the purposes and functions of the system, its problems and priorities, and its main institutionspolice and policing, prosecution and sentencing, and community and institutional corrections. This text brings together a mix of established, senior scholars and up-and-coming writers to provide authoritative contributions on hot-button topics, from the justice system's handling of immigration and terrorism to racial profiling, parole, and re-entry, as well as bread-and-butter issues like incapacitation, jails, drugs, and police strategy. As countries vary substantially in the detailed operation of some agencies and few scholars have detailed knowledge of the operation of two or more countries' systems, the focus is principally, though not exclusively, on the American justice system.

The Oxford Handbook of Crime and Public Policy / edited by Michael Tonry New York : Oxford University Press, 2011.  640pp.  Main Library  HV6251  .O94 2011 : Offers a comprehensive examination of crimes as public policy subjects. Much of the scholarly literature and principal books on criminal justice and crime control policy take the operations of the criminal justice system, the causes of crime and delinquency, theories about crime and justice, and crime prevention as the central topics for study and policy analysis. But law enforcement and public officials create policy responses to specific crimes, not broad categories of offenses. In order to develop the most effective policies, one needs to understand why particular crimes occur and what approaches might best prevent them or minimize the harm they cause. Each article in this book explains why crimes happen, how often, and what we know about efforts to prevent or control them. The book presents a wide-ranging overview and analysis of violent and sexual crimes, property crimes, transactional crimes, transnational crimes, and crimes against morality. The crimes investigated range from often-discussed offenses (homicide, auto theft, sexual violence) to those that only recently began to receive attention (child abuse, domestic violence, environmental crimes); it includes new crimes (identity theft, cybercrime) as well as age-old crimes (drug abuse, gambling, prostitution).

The Oxford Handbook of Crime Prevention / edited by Brandon C. Welsh, David P. Farrington.  New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.  543pp.  Main Library HV7431 .O94 2012 : How can a society prevent—not deter, not punish—but prevent crime? Criminal justice prevention, commonly called crime control, aims to prevent crime after an initial offence has been committed through anything from an arrest to a death penalty sentence. These traditional means have been frequently examined and their efficacy just as frequently questioned. Promising new forms of crime prevention have emerged and expanded as important components of an overall strategy to reduce crime. Crime prevention today has developed along three lines: interventions to improve the life chances of children and prevent them from embarking on a life of crime; programs and policies designed to ameliorate the social conditions and institutions that influence offending; and the modification or manipulation of the physical environment, products, or systems to reduce everyday opportunities for crime. Each strategy aims at preventing crime or criminal offending in the first instance—before the act has been committed. Each, importantly, takes place outside of the formal criminal justice system, representing an alternative, perhaps even socially progressive way to reduce crime. This comprehensive publication reviews up-to-date research on crime prevention. Bringing together top scholars in criminology, public policy, psychology, and sociology, the volume includes critical reviews of the main theories that form the basis of crime prevention, evidence-based assessments of the effectiveness of the most important interventions, and cross-cutting essays that examine implementation, evaluation methodology, and public policy.

The Oxford Handbook of Criminological Theory / edited by Francis T. Cullen and Pamela Wilcox.  New York : Oxford University Press, c2013.  734pp.  Main Library HV6025 .O868X 2013 : Deals with criminological theory, criminology, and criminal justice. It addresses a wide range of topics relevant to criminology, including socioeconomic factors that contribute to crime such as biology, community and inequality, emotions, immigration, social institutions, social learning, social support, parenting, peer networks, street culture, and market economy. It also examines the developmental criminology perspective and the developmental risk factors for crime and delinquency across five key risk domains (individuals, family, peers, schools, and community). Moreover, it reviews criminological research that ascribes criminal behavior to the interaction between individuals and street culture; Cesare Lombroso's views about the causes and correlates of crime as delineated in his book,   Criminal Man   ; the state of contemporary gang ethnography; Travis Hirschi's major contributions to the methods of analysis in criminology; the role of gender in delinquency; the link between coercion and crime; the psychology of criminal conduct; violence in drug markets in suburbs and the code of the suburb; the impact of imprisonment on reoffending; green criminology; and why crime levels are extraordinarily high in some places but low or totally absent in most places, and how place management accounts for this disparity. The book also looks at a variety of theories on criminology, including the rational choice theory, the theory of target search, Robert Agnew's general strain theory, the “Integrated Cognitive Antisocial Potential” theory developed by David Farrington, routine activity theory, and crime-as-choice theory

Oxford Handbook of Criminology / Mike Maguire, Rod Morgan and Robert Reiner.  Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press Inc., 2007. 4th ed., 1185pp. Main Library HV6025 .O87 2007 - Contents: Sociological theories of crime / Paul Rock -- Criminological psychology / Clive R. Hollin -- Contemporary landscapes of crime, order, and control : governance, risk, and globalization / Ian Loader and Richard Sparks -- Cultural criminology / Keith Hayward and Jock Young -- Historical perspectives on crime / Clive Emsley -- Comparing criminal justice / David Nelken -- Diversity, crime, and criminal justice / Barbara Hudson -- Legal constructions of crime / Nicola Lacey -- No turning back : the politics of law and order into the millennium / David Downes and Rod Morgan -- Crime data and statistics / Mike Maguire -- Media-made criminality : the representation of crime in the mass media / Robert Reiner -- Political economy, crime, and criminal justice / Robert Reiner -- Gender and crime / Frances Heidensohn and Loraine Gelsthorpe -- Ethnicities, racism, crime, and criminal justice / Coretta Phillips and Ben Bowling -- Victims, victimization, and criminal justice / Carolyn Hoyle and Lucia Zedner -- Mentally disordered offenders, mental health, and crime / Jill Peay -- Place, space, crime, and disorder / Anthony E. Bottoms -- Youth crime and youth culture / Tim Newburn -- Childhood risk factors and risk-focused prevention / David P. Farrington -- Crime and the life course / David J. Smith -- Violent crime / Michael Levi, Mike Maguire, and Fiona Brookman -- White-collar and corporate crime / David Nelken -- Organized crime and terrorism / Michael Levi -- Drugs, alcohol, and crime / Nigel South -- The governance of security : pluralization, privatization, and polarization in crime control / Trevor Jones -- Crime prevention and community safety / Adam Crawford -- Policing and the police / Tim Newburn and Robert Reiner -- From suspect to trial / Andrew Sanders and Richard Young -- Sentencing / Andrew Ashworth -- Youth justice / Rod Morgan and Tim Newburn -- Community penalties : probation, "what works," and offender management / Peter Raynor -- Imprisonment : an expanding scene / Rod Morgan and Alison Liebling.

The Oxford Handbook of Juvenile Crime and Juvenile Justice / Barry C. Feld, Donna M. Bishop.  New York : Oxford University Press, c2012, [2011].  934pp.  Main Library  HV9104 .O989 2011 : Over the last two decades, researchers have made significant discoveries about the causes and origins of delinquency. Specifically, they have learned a great deal about adolescent development and its relationship to decision-making, about multiple factors that contribute to delinquency, and about the processes and contexts associated with the course of delinquent careers. Over the same period, public officials have made sweeping jurisprudential, jurisdictional, and procedural changes in our juvenile justice systems. The Oxford Handbook of Juvenile Crime and Juvenile Justice presents a compilation of critical reviews of knowledge about causes of delinquency and their significance for justice policy, and about developments in the juvenile justice system to prevent and control youth crime. The first half of the text focuses on juvenile crime and examines trends and patterns in delinquency and victimization, explores causes of delinquency—at the individual, micro-social, and macro-social levels, and from natural and social science perspectives—and their implications for structuring a youth justice system. The second half of the book concentrates on juvenile justice and examines a range of issues—including the historical origins and re-invention of the juvenile court; juvenile offenders' mental health status and considerations of trial competence and culpability; intake, diversion, detention, and juvenile courts; and transfer/waiver strategies—and considers how the juvenile justice system itself influences delinquency.

The Oxford Handbook of Sentencing and Corrections / edited by Joan Petersilia, Kevin R. Reitz.  New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.  764pp.  HV8708 .O94 2012 : It is no secret that America's sentencing and corrections systems are in crisis, and neither system can be understood or repaired fully without careful consideration of the other. This book examines the intertwined and multi-layered fields of American sentencing and corrections from global and historical viewpoints, from theoretical and policy perspectives, and with close attention to many problem-specific arenas. The book brings together a group of preeminent scholars to present state-of-the art research, investigate current practices, and explore the implications of new and varied approaches wherever possible. The volume's contributions bridge the gap between research and policy across a range of topics including an overview of mass incarceration and its collateral effects, explorations of sentencing theories and their applications, analyses of the full spectrum of correctional options, and first-hand accounts of life inside of and outside of prison. Individual articles reflect expertise and source materials from multiple fields including criminology, law, sociology, psychology, public policy, economics, political science, and history. Proving that the problems of sentencing and corrections cannot be addressed effectively or comprehensively within the confines of any one discipline, this volume relates the two central components of America's on-going experiment in mass incarceration.

The Routledge Handbook of Chinese Criminology / edited by Liqun Cao, Ivan Y. Sun, and Bill Hebenton.  Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge, 2014.  352pp.  Main Library  HV7118.5 .R68X 2014 : The book presents a coherent and systematic guide to the current state-of-the-art research and theory in criminology in China and Greater China and will be of interest to those engaged with crime and criminal justice and Asian Studies.

Routledge Handbook of Critical Criminology / edited by Walter S. DeKeseredy and Molly Dragiewicz.  Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2012.  529pp.  Main Library  HV6025 .R677 2012 : A collection of original essays specifically designed to offer students, faculty, policy makers, and others an in-depth overview of the most up-to-date empirical, theoretical, and political contributions made by critical criminologists around the world. Special attention is devoted to new theoretical directions in the field, such as cultural criminology, masculinities studies, and feminist criminologies. Its diverse essays not only cover the history of critical criminology and cutting edge theories, but also the variety of research methods used by leading scholars in the field and the rich data generated by their rigorous empirical work. In addition, some of the chapters suggest innovative and realistic short- and long-term policy proposals that are typically ignored by mainstream criminology. These progressive strategies address some of the most pressing social problems facing contemporary society today and that generate much pain and suffering for socially and economically disenfranchised people. The Handbook of Critical Criminologyexplores the most-up-to-date empirical, theoretical, and political contributions made by critical criminologists around the world. In addition to including cutting edge, original contributions made by many leading experts in the field, this book is specifically designed to be a comprehensive resource for students, faculty, policy makers, and practitioners.

The Routledge Handbook of European Criminology / edited by Sophie Body-Gendrot, Mike Hough, Klara Kerezsi, René Lévy and Sonja Snacken.  Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2014.  550pp.  Main Library  HV6025 .R6778 2014 : This new book brings together some of the leading criminologists across Europe, to showcase the best of European criminology. This Handbook aims to reflect the range and depth of current work in Europe, and to counterbalance the impact of the – sometimes insular and ethnocentric – Anglo-American criminological tradition. The end-product is a collection of twenty-eight chapters illustrating a truly comparative and interdisciplinary European criminology.

The Routledge Handbook of International Crime and Justice Studies / edited by Bruce A. Arrigo and Heather Y. Bersot.  Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge, 2014.  653pp.  Main Library  HV6025 .R6779 2014 : The Routledge Handbook of International Crime and Justice Studies presents the enduring debates and emerging challenges in crime and justice studies from an international and multi-disciplinary perspective. Guided by the pivotal, although vastly under-examined, role that consumerism, politics, technology, and culture assume in shaping these debates and in organizing these challenges, individual chapters probe the global landscape of crime and justice with astonishing clarity and remarkable depth.

Routledge Handbook of International Criminology / Cindy J. Smith, Sheldon X. Zhang, Rosemary Barberet.  2010.  552pp. on order : The Routledge Handbook of International Criminology brings together the latest thinking and findings from a diverse group of both senior and promising young scholars from around the globe. This collaborative project articulates a new way of thinking about criminology that extends existing perspectives in understanding crime and social control across borders, jurisdictions, and cultures, and facilitates the development of an overarching framework that is truly international....The book is divided into three parts, in which three distinct yet overlapping types of crime are analyzed: international crime, transnational crime, and national crime. Each of these perspectives is then articulated through a number of chapters which cover theory and methods, international and transnational crime analyses, and case studies of criminology and criminal justice in relevant nations. In addition, questions placed at the end of each chapter encourage greater reflection on the issues raised, and will encourage young scholars to move the field of inquiry forward.

Routledge Handbook of Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Felia Allum and Stan Gilmour.  London ; New York : Routledge, 2012.  549pp.  Main Library  HV6252 .R695 2012 : Transnational organized crime crosses borders, challenges States, exploits individuals, pursues profit, wrecks economies, destroys civil society, and ultimately weakens global democracy. It is a phenomenon that is all too often misunderstood and misrepresented. This handbook attempts to redress the balance, by providing a fresh and interdisciplinary overview of the problems which transnational organized crime represents. The innovative aspect of this handbook is not only its interdisciplinary nature but also the dialogue between international academics and practitioners that it presents. The handbook seeks to provide the definitive overview of transnational organized crime, including contributions from leading international scholars as well as emerging researchers. The work starts by examining the origins, concepts, contagion and evolution of transnational organized crime and then moves on to discuss the impact, governance and reactions of governments and their agencies, before looking to the future of transnational organized crime, and how the State will seek to respond. Providing a cutting edge survey of the discipline, this work will be essential reading for all those with an interest in this dangerous phenomenon.

The Routledge Handbook on Crime and International Migration / Sharon Pickering, Julie Ham.. London ; New York : Routledge, 2014.  418pp.  on order :The Routledge Handbook on Crime and International Migration is concerned with the various relationships between migration, crime and victimization that have informed a wide criminological scholarship often driven by some of the original lines of inquiry of the Chicago School. Historically, migration and crime came to be the device by which Criminology and cognate fields sought to tackle issues of race and ethnicity, often in highly problematic ways. However in the contemporary period this body of scholarship is inspiring scholars to produce significant evidence that speaks to some of the biggest public policy questions and debunks many dominant mythologies around the criminality of migrants....The Routledge Handbook on Crime and International Migration is also concerned with the theoretical, empirical and policy knots found in the relationship between regular and irregular migration, offending and victimization, the processes and impact of criminalization, and the changing role of criminal justice systems in the regulation and enforcement of international mobility and borders. The Handbook is focused on the migratory ‘fault lines’ between the Global North and Global South, which have produced new or accelerated sites of state control, constructed irregular migration as a crime and security problem, and mobilized ideological and coercive powers usually reserved for criminal or military threats....Offering a strong international focus and comprehensive coverage of a wide range of border, criminal justice and migration-related issues, this book is an important contribution to criminology and migration studies and will be essential reading for academics, students and practitioners interested in this field.

Routledge International Handbook of Crime and Gender Studies / edited by Claire M. Renzetti, Susan L. Miller, and Angela R. Gover.  Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2013.  315pp.  HV6024.5 .R68X 2013 : Criminological research has historically been based on the study of men, boys and crime. As a result, the criminal justice system's development of policies, programs, and treatment regimes was based on the male offender. It was not until the 1970s that some criminologists began to draw attention to the neglect of gender in the study of crime, but today, the study of gender and crime is burgeoning within criminology and includes a vast literature. The Routledge International Handbook of Crime and Gender Studies is a collection of original, cutting-edge, multidisciplinary essays which provide a thorough overview of the history and development of research on gender and crime, covering topics based around: theoretical and methodological approaches gender and victimization gender and offending gendered work in the criminal justice system future directions in gender and crime research. Alongside these essays are boxes which highlight particularly innovative ideas or controversial topics - such as cybercrime, restorative justice, campus crime, and media depictions. A second set of boxes features leading gender and crime researchers who reflect on what sparked their interest in the subject. This engaging and thoughtful collection will be invaluable for students and scholars of criminology, sociology, psychology, public health, social work, cultural studies, media studies, economics and political science.

Routledge International Handbook of Green Criminology / edited by Nigel South and Avi Brisman.  Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2013.  448pp.  Main Library   HV6401 .R68 2013 : Academic and general interest in environmental crimes, harms, and threats, as well as in environmental legislation and regulation, has grown sharply in recent years. The Routledge International Handbook of Green Criminology is the most in-depth and comprehensive volume on these issues to date. With contributions from leading international green criminologists and scholars in related fields, the Handbook examines a wide range of substantive issues, including: climate change corporate criminality and impacts on the environment environmental justice media representations pollution (e.g. air, water) questions of responsibility and risk wildlife trafficking The chapters explore green criminology in depth, its theory, history and development, as well as methodological concerns for this area of academic interest. With examples of environmental crimes, harms, and threats from Africa, Asia, Australia, Eastern Europe, South America, the United Kingdom, and the United States, this book will serve as a vital resource for international scholars and students in criminology, sociology, law and socio-legal studies, as well as environmental science, environmental studies, politics and international relations.

Routledge International Handbook on Hate Crime / Nathan Hall, Abbee Corb, Paul Giannasi, John Grieve.  London ; New York : Routledge, 2014.  440pp.  on order :  This edited collection brings together many of the world's leading experts, both academic and practitioner, in a single volume handbook that examines key international issues in the field of hate crime. Collectively it examines a range of pertinent areas with the ultimate aim of providing a detailed picture of the hate crime 'problem' in different parts of the world. The book is divided into four parts: An examination, covering theories and concepts, of issues relating to definitions of hate crime, the individual and community impacts of hate crime, the controversies of hate crime legislation, and theoretical approaches to understanding offending. An exploration of the international geography of hate, in which each chapter examines a range of hate crime issues in different parts of the world, including the UK, wider Europe, North America, Australia and New Zealand. Reflections on a number of different perspectives across a range of key issues in hate crime, examining areas including particular issues affecting different victim groups, the increasingly important influence of the Internet, and hate crimes in sport. A discussion of a range of international efforts being utilised to combat hate and hate crime. Offering a strong international focus and comprehensive coverage of a wide range of hate crime issues, this book is an important contribution to hate crime studies and will be essential reading for academics, students and practitioners interested in this field.

White Collar and Corporate Crime : A Documentary and Reference Guide / Gilbert Geis.  Greenwood, 2011.  Main Library HV6768 .G452 2011 : This reference guide documents white-collar crimes by individuals and businesses over the past 150 years, offering the most comprehensive array of documents and interpretations available....While white-collar crime and corporate greed and irresponsibility have recently received much attention, these misdeeds at the top of the financial food chain are certainly nothing new. Corruption, bribery, insider trading, securities fraud, stock manipulations, and illegal business practices have long been an ongoing problem in big business....From Gilded Age railroad scandals to the muckraking period and from the Savings and Loan debacle to corporate fallout during the recent economic meltdown, some individuals and companies have chosen to take the low road to achieve "the American dream." While these offenders throughout modern history may have lacked ethics, morals, or good judgment, they certainly were not wanting in terms of creativity....White-Collar and Corporate Crime: A Documentary and Reference Guide traces the fascinating history of white-collar and corporate criminal behavior from the 1800s through the 2010 passage of the Dodd-Frank financial reform measure. Author Gilbert Geis scrutinizes more than a century of episodes involving corporate corruption and other self-serving behaviors that violate antitrust laws, bribery statutes, and fraud laws. The various attempts made by authorities to rein in greed and the methods employed by wrongdoers to evade these controls are also discussed and evaluated.

World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems / George Thomas Kurian, editor. Detroit, Mich. : Thomson Gale, c2006. 2nd edition, online. Available online to MSU faculty, students, and subscribers : This fully updated version of the original 1989 edition of the World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems describes the national law enforcement and correctional systems of more than 195 countries across the globe. Under the editorial direction of authorities from the World Future Society, National Criminal Justice Reference Service and eight universities, including the universities of Illinois and South Carolina, the Encyclopedia provides both statistical and analytical information. Following a consistent, user-friendly format, each country overview explores topics such as the history, organization, administrative structure, chains of command, modes of operation, technology and firearms of each area. Entries are accompanied by historical and thematic essays that provide context as well as ideas for further study. The 215 A-to-Z articles are enlivened with more than 200 visuals, including maps, tables, charts and graphs that offer concrete illustrations of concepts and more than 100 photographs that clarify and illuminate the text. Other features of this two-volume set include useful reference tools such as a bibliography and a subject index.

World of Criminal Justice / Shirelle Phelps. Detroit, MI : Gale Group, 2002. 2 volumes. Main Library HV7411 .W67 2002 : Provides summaries of some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in the field of criminal justice. Also provides brief biographies of people that have demonstrated a lasting impact on society or that are poised to have a significant affect on the future in the field of criminal justice. From lawyers, criminals, judges and justices to penal reformers, criminologists and crime victims, biographical entries emphasize the major contributors to the field, including women, minorities and lesser-known figures, while other entries investigate the circumstances of discovery and processes of development of theories and events. Volumes are arranged alphabetically and emphasize important contributions originating in the United States but also cover noteworthy international topics and figures.

World of Forensic Science / K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, editors. Detroit : Thomson Gale Group, 2005. Available online to MSU faculty, students, and subscribers : The two-volume World of Forensic Science is a convenient, comprehensive guide to the scientific processes and the legal, social and ethical issues involved in the forensic sciences. Approximately 600 entries cover the individuals, techniques and principles of biology, chemistry, law, medicine, physics, computer science, geology and psychology involved in the multidisciplinary approach of examining crime scenes and evidence to be used in legal proceedings. Topics range from types of evidence (fingerprints, hair, weapons) to specific techniques and methods of analysis (ballistics, DNA identification), organizations (Federal Crime Lab), individuals (Alphonse Bertillon) and famous trials (O.J. Simpson case).

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University