Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Criminal Justice Resources: E-Books

E-Book Overview

When searching our online catalog, it is possible to modify your search results to find electronic resources. 

This web page also identifies some additional electronic book collections which you may want to explore as well.

ACLS Humanities E-Books

ACLS Humanities E-Book is a digital collection of 2,200 full-text titles offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with nineteen learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars and featuring unlimited multi-user access and free, downloadable MARC records. HEB is available 24/7 on- and off-campus through standard web browsers.  Note: while humanities does not usually include criminal justice titles, there are a few in this collection.

Some of the electronic books in this collection deal with criminal justice topics.  If you browse by subject, try topics such as:

capital punishment
crime
criminal justice
hate groups
lynching
police

Ebrary Academic Complete

The MSU Library will be subscribing to the Ebrary Academic Complete online library for the Fall 2011 and Spring 2012 semesters.  Try it out.   If you see a title of interest, copy it and search the MSU Library Online Catalog by title for a link.

Google Books

Google Books provides the largest collection of digitized books.  Unfortunately, due to copyright restrictions, many are restricted to snippets.  Also, Google Books is also populated with magazines (which can be good or bad depending on what you are looking for).

Click on the advanced search feature so you can restrict your search to full-text only and books.  You can also select a subject.  Criminology works as a subject, but not criminal justice.

HathiTrust

HathiTrust is a shared digital repository by the 13 members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system. More information about HathiTrust is available at http://www.hathitrust.org/

The MSU Libraries is just starting to load titles from the Hathi Trust into our online catalog.  If there is a digitized title in the HathiTrust that matches a title in the MSU Library Union Catalog, then a record with a link to the full text page hosted by HathiTrust database will be added to the catalog.

Take a look at some of the following titles, and note the Hathi  Trust and sometimes also the Google full text link within the record:

Privacy and security of criminal history information : a guide to administrative securityWashington : Dept. of Justice, Law Enforcement Assistance Administration, National Criminal Justice Information and Statistics Service : for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1978.  27pp.  Government Documents Library, U.S. Documents Collection (3 West) J 26.8:P 93

Note :  Don't want to limit yourself to what has been loaded into the MSU Library Union Catalog?  Go ahead and click on the HathiTrust and search away.  If you want entire documents, be sure to select Full Text.

Internet Text Archives

As of March 31, 2010, the Internet Text Archives provides access to over  two million free digital texts.  The books here are divided into several sections, including books from American libraries (the largest section with 1.2 million texts), books from Canadian libraries, Open Source books, Project Gutenberg, and Children’s Library. If you want to browse check the nav on the right for the most popular downloads of all time, the most popular downloads of this week, and Editor’s Picks.

You can do keyword searches, too. If you want to do anything beyond a simple keyword search I recommend you go straight to the advanced search page; there are so many fields available to search that it’s hard to remember them all. The advanced search is easier.

NCJRS via Web

NCJRS Abstracts Database via WEB (1968 to date) provides 100-200 word abstracts for more than 145,000 criminal justice publications.  Literature covered includes U.S. Federal, State and local government documents, books, journal articles, unpublished research reports, and program descriptions and evaluations, from the early 1970's up to the present. Currently 355 new items are added to the Database each month.  The Database on the Web will be updated twice monthly.
If you only want full text documents, select publications with full text.
Interlibrary loans are available for all items in the collection to U.S. and Canadian libraries.  On a standard ALA form, record the document title and NCJ number.   Fax the form to NCJRS at (301) 519-5212 or mail it to: NCJRS Library, PO Box 6000, Rockville, MD  20849-6000.  Include payment of $15.00 per title in the United States, $16.50 per title in Canada.  If you have additional questions, call  (301) 519-5063 for assistance.
However, be aware that the MSU Library used to purchase NCJRS microfiche reports before the arrival of the Internet; so you may want to check with the Hollander MakeCentral (formerly called Copy Center) to see if we have a microfiche copy under the call number HV6001 .N35.  Most of the NCJRS reports on microfiche are dated between 1981-1995.
Unlimited access

Online Books Page (Criminology)

Online Books Page: Criminology
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/webbin/book/subjectstart?HV
Maintained by John Mark Ockerbloom (onlinebooks@pobox.upenn.edu)
(Last checked 07/23/12)

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg provides access to electronic texts of many works in the area of criminal justice. Check out the Crime Bookshelf for some examples!  Note that in addition to subcategories such as crime fiction, detective fiction, and mystery fiction, there is a category for "crime, nonfiction".

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect allows access to a limited number of Elsevier books in the social sciences.  Try the law tab under social sciences.  Note: access limited to the MSU community and other subscribers.

SpringerLink

SpringerLink provides access to Springer ebooks for the MSU community and other subscribers.  If you search criminology and use the book filter, you will find 91 results.  You can try other terms as well; be sure to limit to books unless you also want to browse through book chapters and journal articles as well.

Wiley Online Library

The Wiley Online Library provides access to a limited number of online books in law and criminology.  Access is limited to the MSU community and other subscribers.

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University