Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Housing Data and Statistics: Mortgages & Finance

Data and statistics about housing and buildings.

Mortgages, Finance, and Economy

 

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
The Federal Reserve Board has data and statistics on U.S. banking and financial including loans including home loans, credit, interest rates, and much more.

Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC)
The Council is a formal interagency body empowered to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms for the federal examination of financial institutions by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (FRB), the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC), and the Office of Thrift Supervision (OTS), and to make recommendations to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions.

Census Reports
The FFIEC Census Reports web site was developed to provide electronic access to census data that the FFIEC uses to create the Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) and Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) aggregate and disclosure reports.  Provides data at the census tract level.  Includes data on demographics, income, population and housing.

Home Mortgage Disclosure Act - Online Reports
The HMDA reports provide information regarding home mortgage lending activity, and the Private Mortgage Insurance Companies (PMIC) reports provide mortgage insurance activity data from private mortgage insurance companies.

Federal Housing Finance Agency
The Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) was created on July 30, 2008, when the President signed into law the Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008.  The Act created a world-class, empowered regulator with all of the authorities necessary to oversee vital components of our country’s secondary mortgage markets – Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, and the Federal Home Loan Banks.
Includes the House Price Index (a broad measure of the movement of single-family house prices), housing market indicators, market data, and research reports.

Mortgage Bankers Association

Research and Forecasts
Look here for products and surveys, economic outlook forecasts, and market environment data.

Mortgage Bankers Association of America (2013). Table 1206: Mortgage Originations And Delinquency And Foreclosure Rates: 1990 To 2011 [Selected Years], In ProQuest, ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States:2013. Retrieved from http://statab.conquestsystems.com/sa/abstract.html?table-no=1206&acc-no=C7095-1.25&year=2013&z=DA9707C279E51CFD91C856E47AA84D25FCD718CA

PolicyMap
Repackages real estate data from various sources. See the guide for a description of available variables and sources.

RealtyTrac

U.S. Real Estate Trends
Limited statistics available freely, otherwise information is fee-based.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)

U.S. Housing Market Conditions
U.S. Housing Market Conditions, published quarterly, is a compilation of statistical data and written reports. Tabular data indicate market conditions on the national level and are presented for each quarter. Historical data are also presented in summary tables. Overviews of economic and housing market trends are presented for 10 geographical regions, the report for each of which includes a profile on a selected housing market. Each issue includes a summary of the overall trends in national housing and a topical piece that describes a particular, noteworthy aspect of housing activity.

Comprehensive Housing Market Analysis
HUD's Economic and Market Analysis Division prepares Comprehensive Housing Market Analysis that assist and guide HUD in its operations. The factual information, findings, and conclusions contained in the reports could also be useful to builders, mortgagees, and others concerned with local housing conditions and trends.  The reports present counts and estimates of employment, population, households, and housing inventory.

Housing Affordability Data System
The Housing Affordability Data System (HADS) is a set of files derived from the 1985-2003 national American Housing Survey (AHS) and the 2002 and 2004 Metro AHS. This system categorizes housing units by affordability and households by income, with respect to the Adjusted Median Income, Fair Market Rent (FMR), and poverty income. It also includes housing cost burden for owner and renter households.

Fair Market Rents
Fair Market Rents (FMRs) are primarily used to determine payment standard amounts for the Housing Choice Voucher program, to determine initial renewal rents for some expiring project-based Section 8 contracts, to determine initial rents for housing assistance payment (HAP) contracts in the Moderate Rehabilitation Single Room Occupancy program (Mod Rehab), and to serve as a rent ceiling in the HOME rental assistance program.  The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) annually estimates FMRs for 530 metropolitan areas and 2,045 nonmetropolitan county FMR areas.

Residential Finance Survey
The 2001 Residential Finance Survey (RFS) was sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and conducted by the Census Bureau. The RFS is a follow-on survey to the 2000 decennial census designed to collect, process, and produce information about the financing of all nonfarm, residential properties.

Foreclosure Statistics

Michigan Specific

Michigan Foreclosure Response Toolkit - Section 6: Michigan Historical Foreclosure Data
"Trends on residential foreclosures, delinquency, Real Estate Owned (REO) properties, underwater homes and time properties remain in foreclosure are provided for each county where available. The project also explores the trends between urban and rural counties in Michigan. It is our hope that communities will use this data to launch or enhance local foreclosure response efforts."

Michigan Historical Residential Foreclosure Data Report
A project of the Michigan Foreclosure Task Force. Statistics by county on urban/rural county classification, monthly average percentage of mortgages foreclosured, percent change in state equalized values, and some additional variables. Charts and maps available with county profiles from 2005-2010. Source data from CoreLogic.

Statewide Tax Foreclosure Data
Table in PDF format showing tax foreclosure statistics from 2005 forfeitures - 2011 foreclosures by county from the Michigan Department of Treasury.

National Sources

Federal Reserve Bank of New York - Community Credit Profiles Map
Interactive map showing foreclosure percentages by state and county from 2006-2014. Data is sourced from CoreLogic and Lender Processing Services.

HUD Neighborhood Stabilization Program
Foreclosure data available is mainly sourced from the Mortgage Bankers Association National Delinquency Survey. Spreadsheets from NSP1 Neighborhood Level Foreclosure Data are provided by state with county, place, and tract level geographies for the year 2007. NSP2 data has foreclosure risk scores from 2008 in a mapping tool. NSP3 has block group data with foreclosure risk scores from 2010.

PolicyMap
The PolicyMap database has a variable on “estimated number of foreclosure starts according to HUD, as of 2010” which is available at the census tract geography. It is located under the “Federal Guidelines” data category, then U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, then NSP3 Target Areas. This refers to the Neighborhood Stabilization Program data.

Mortgage Bankers Association - National Delinquency Survey
Very limited sample data is available freely online. Additional data is available for purchase. MSU Libraries do not have access. Summary tables of national level data with deliquency and foreclosure rates from 2000-2013 are available in the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States.
"The National Delinquency Survey (NDS) is one of the most recognized sources for residential mortgage delinquency and foreclosure rates. Based on a sample of approximately 41.6 million mortgage loans serviced by mortgage companies, commercial banks, thrifts, credit unions and others, NDS provides quarterly delinquency and foreclosure statistics at the national, regional and state levels."

RealtyTrac - Foreclosure Trends
Very limited freely available statistics. Data available for purchase; MSU does not have access.

SimplyMap
The SimplyMap marketing database contains Foreclosure Percentages for 2009-2012 by state, county, zip code, census tract, and block group. Source data from AGS Current Estimates and 5 Year Projection Census Data.

Zillow Real Estate Research
Provides some freely available spreadsheets with statistics such as Homes Foreclosed from 1998-2014 for selected geographies at the state, metro, county, city, zip code, and neighborhood level. Data is also available in Data-Planet (MSU does not currently subscribe), e.g., Homes Foreclosed from the Zillow Real Estate Metrics Dataset shown in #/10,000 Homes.

Other Sources of Data
Additional sources of foreclosure data are likely to be available for purchase from commercial firms. For example, the following paper (and its supplementary material) utilizes and provides information on the purchase of data from DataQuick (housing transactions data) and Altos Research (listing data):
Anenberg, Elliot, and Edward Kung. 2014. "Estimates of the Size and Source of Price Declines Due to Nearby Foreclosures." American Economic Review, 104(8): 2527-51.

Michigan State University