Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Africana (African Studies) at the MSU Libraries: Resources

The Africana Reference Library (Main Library, 2nd floor, East Wing) contains offices of the Africana librarians & reference works.

Digital Full-text/Databases/Streaming

AfricaBib (Africana Periodical Literature)
Africa-wide information
African blue books, 1821-1953

African Newspapers (WorldNewspaperArchive)
African Studies Abstracts
African Studies, Oxford Bibliographies

African Writers Series
Afrobarometer (politics)
AJOL

AllAfrica.com [archive]  
Aluka
Apartheid South Africa 1948-1980.  
Artemis Primary Sources
Black Studies Center (Diaspora, some Africa)
British Online Archives(Selected Papers from Personal
Library of Colin
Legum, 1919-2003;  South African Archives o USPG)
British records on the Atlantic world, 1700-1900
(Early colonial & missionary records from West Africa; Gold Coast records from archives of USPG 1886-1951; Universities Mission to Central Africa)
Cairn (francophone journals)
Confidential print. Africa, 1834-1966.

Corpus de la première littérature francophone d'Afrique noire
DISA (Digital Innovation South Africa)
Empire Online
Ethnographic Video Online

Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest (
Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
Filmakers Library Online (streaming video)
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 1801-2004
Kanopy streaming video
(content changes: search by keyword)

Original Correspondence C.O. 583. Nigeria 1931-51
Quarterly Index to African Periodical Literature see AfricaBib
Recent Doctoral Dissertations (about Africa)

SAePublications (SABINET e-journals)
SALDRU clippings collection
Slavery Abolition And Social Justice 1490 2007
Slavery and anti-slavery: a transnational archive

South Africa Collection (video streaming)

Government Documents Online from Africa

InterLibrary Loan

NEW AFRICA RESOURCES @ MSU Libraries

NEW AFRICA RESOURCES  @ MSU Libraries: an occasional newsletter
updates (2011-2016 - )

News About Africa

African News Agency [NEW] full-text news reports from entire media spectrum (1998- Current).

African Newspapers/Africa News (Stanford)
AllAfrica.com (current)
AllAfrica.com (archive) 

NewspaperDirect (10 nations, 60 days only)

SA Media [NEW] South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards.

United Nations - IRIN Africa Service

Africa Past & Present podcast (MSU)

Loading

H-Africa scholarly network

Loading

Africana (Peter Limb personal feed) on Twitter

Peter Limb's Africana feed. not official MSU site, but largely Africana

and

Jessica Achberger's Africana (not official, but largely Africana)

 

Contacts

Librarians

For reference assistance, please contact:
Peter Limb Africana Bibliographer (517) 884-0838 limb@msu.edu

or

Jessica Achberger, African Studies Librarian, (517) 884-0839, achberg2@msu.edu

Our address: Africana, MSU Libraries
2nd Floor East Wing
366 W. Circle Drive East Lansing, MI 48824


 

Michigan State University