Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Environmental Statistics: United States

U.S. Government Agencies

Energy Information Administration

Annual Energy Review
The Annual Energy Review (AER) reports historical annual energy statistics.
Monthly Energy Review
The Monthly Energy Review (MER) covers recent energy statistics.

Environmental Protection Agency

Envirofacts
Envirofacts provides a single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data.
AirData
The AirData Web site gives you access to air pollution data for the entire United States. AirData produces reports and maps of air pollution data based on criteria that you specify.

National Aeronatics and Space Administration
Collects remotely-sensed data to improve our understanding of and contribute to improved predictive capability for climate, weather, and natural hazards.

Global Change Master Directory
Searchable source of data sets and services covering a broad range of topics, including agriculture, atmosphere, biosphere, climate indicators, cryosphere, land surface, oceans, paleoclimate, and more.

Global Climate Change Key Indicators
Includes sea level, arctic sea ice, carbon dioxide concentration, global average temperature, and ozone hole data.

National Agricultural Statistics Service

NASS Data and Statistics

Census of Agriculture

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Gathers worldwide environmental data about the oceans, earth, air, space, and sun and their interactions to describe and predict the state of the physical environment.

Natural Hazards Statistics
Statistical information on fatalities, injuries and damages caused by weather related hazards.
Also available in the periodical Storm Data (electronic and print).

Fisheries Statistics Division
The Fisheries Statistics Division collects data and coordinates information and research programs to support the science-based stewardship of the nation's living marine resources.

Great Lakes Coast Watch - Great Lakes Statistics
Physical characteristics, surface water temperature and ice concentration.

National Climatic Data Center
NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data.

Image and Publications System
Log in through MSU's proxy server to access to current and historical local, national and world climatological and weather publications and data.

Monthly Climatic Data for the World
Monthly issues contains monthly mean temperature, pressure, precipitation, vapor pressure, and sunshine for approximately 2,000 surface data collection stations worldwide and monthly mean upper air temperatures, dew point depressions, and wind Velocities for approximately 500 observing sites. (1948-Present)

Weather/Climate Data and Products
Links to additional publications/data

National Oceanographic Data Center
The NODC archives and distributes global oceanographic data and information.

National Geophysical Data Center
NGDC provides stewardship, products and services for geophysical data describing the solid earth, marine, and solar-terrestrial environment, as well as earth observations from space.

National Parks Service

NPS Stats: National Parks Service Public Use Statistics
View vistitation reports by park as well as acreage reports.

Natural Resources Conservation Service

State of the Land
This site provides data and analysis on land use, soil erosion, water quality, wetlands, and other issues regarding the conservation and use of natural resources. Maintained by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.
National Resources Inventory
A statistical survey of land use and natural resource conditions and trends on U.S. non-Federal lands.

U.S. Fire Administration

Fire Statistics
This page contains statistics on fires that occur in the United States and analytical and topical reports that describe the national fire problem. Also included are statistics related to firefighters and fire departments.
Note: Additional fire statistics available from the National Fire Protection Association.

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Endangered Species Program
Counts of endangered species.

Fire Program Statistics
Wildland fire statistics by state, region, or refuge from 1995-present.

Hunting Statistics and Economics
Reports from the National Survey of Fishing, Hunting, and Wildlife-Associated Recreation.

U.S. Geological Survey

State Minerals Statistics and Information

Water Resources of the United States
Current and historical water resources data and maps.

Michigan State University