Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Environmental Statistics: International

International Environmental Statistics

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

OECDiLibrary Statistics
Includes key tables on CO2 emissions and water abstractions, reports and databases on energy.  See also the Environmental Statistics Portal.

 

United Nations

UNData
Contains a large number of statistics gathered from many different UN sources. Select the Topics List link under Metadata to view the subjects covered, such as environment, energy, agriculture, and more.

Energy Statistics Database
See also the Energy Statistics Yearbook and Energy Balances and Electricity Profiles.

Greenhouse Gas Inventory Data

Food and Agriculture Organization Data

United Nations Statistics Division - Energy Statistics

United Nations Statistics Division - Environment Statistics Section
Includes environmental indicators and country snapshots.

United Nations Environment Programme - World Conservation Monitoring Centre
Includes links to datasets, tools, and reports on topics such as biodiversity, climate change, marine assessment, species, etc.

World Bank

World Bank Open Data
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources.  Both the World Development Indicators and Millenium Development Goals include environmental variables.

Little Green Data Book
This pocket-sized reference on key environmental data for over 200 countries includes key indicators on agriculture, forestry, biodiversity, energy, emission and pollution, and water and sanitation. The volume helps establish a sound base of information to help set priorities and measure progress toward environmental sustainability goals.

World Health Organization

Public Health and Environment
Includes information on air pollution, water, sanitation, and hygiene, chemicals, and second-hand smoke.

ProQuest Statistical Insight - Statistical Abstracts of the World, and International DataSets
From the main Statistical Insight page, choose Statistical Abstract of the World or International DataSets from the left-side menu.
Statistical Abstracts of the World offers access to country statistical reference tables.
International DataSets aggregates over 50,000 numeric datasets from international organizations, economic research firms, and national government statistical offices.

World Resources Institute

EarthTrends
This site includes data tables, country profiles, maps, and more.
Note: The Earthtrends database is no longer updated after December 2010.
World Resources: A report by the World Resources Institute and the International Institute for Environment and Climate
Also available in print: HC 10 .W827 (1986-present)

EuroStat
Official website of the statistical agency of the European Commission. Hundreds of statistical reports under the Statistics tab, including a broad range of statistics from environment and energy to population.

Environment Statistics

Energy Statistics

Statistics Canada

Environment
Information on Canada’s environment and its relationship with human activity. Includes issues related to natural resources (e.g., energy and minerals, forests, water, land), air and climate, pollution, wastes and measures to protect the environment.

International Environment Statistics: Books

Michigan State University