Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education.
Create maps and reports for selected Census statistics 1790-present. This is a library subscription program that repackages Census.gov data in an easy to use interface.
**Access is allowed for only five users at a time. It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource.**
Formerly named SimplyMap, SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping tool that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes MRI Consumer Survey, Claritas PRIZM, and SimmonsLOCAL data.
Use CDC (Centers for Disease Control) Wonder to find health related data for the United States
Look here for data on U.S. federal social service programs.
"The Green Book is compiled by the staff of the Committee on Ways and Means of the U.S. House of Representatives from many sources and it provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation. It has become a standard reference work for those interested in the direction of social policy in the United States."
Michigan Department of Community Health - Health Statistics and Reports
Includes vital statistics, communicable diseases, hospitalizations, birth defects, community health information, cancer statistics, and population trends.
ProQuest Statistical Insight, ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the U.S., ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World provide statistics and related works on a variety of subjects in an easy to use interface.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
The World DataBank is provided by the World Bank, which is an international banking organization providing loans to "developing" countries.
The OECD iLibrary Statistics contains a range of indicators on social and economic issues worldwide.
UN Data offers international data collected by a variety of agencies, but primarily the UN.
Thinking ahead...will you use quantitative research methods in your thesis or dissertation?
The library can assist you in locating data sets for secondary analysis.
When you write your thesis or dissertation you may conduct your own study and collect original data, or you may want to analyze pre-existing data---especially public data from a government program or survey.
Library Data Services
Michigan State University Library Data Services assists faculty, staff and students identify and access numeric data sets for secondary research analysis, primarily in the social sciences.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is the world's largest social science data archive. It is one of the best places to start looking for a data set, especially for survey and governmental data. MSU maintains a membership which allows students and faculty to download data sets and use other online tools by registering with your @msu.edu email address.
The MSU Center for Statistical Training and Consulting is a professional service and research unit at Michigan State University. Our aim is to support research and provide training, grant development, and consulting in statistics for faculty, staff, and graduate students.