Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Transportation Statistics: International

International Transportation Statistics

North American Transportation Statistics

North American Transportation Statistics Database
This database aggregated transportation statistics from Canada, Mexico, and the United States (the members of the North American Free-Trade Zone) in order to facilitate comparisons.  A collaborative effort of Statistics Canada, the Mexican Institute of Transportation, and the Bureau of Transportation Statistics.

OECD International Transportation Forum

International Traffic Safety and Data Analysis Group 
Provides an aggregated database, in which international accident and victim as well as exposure data are collected on a continuous basis.
Full access is only available to members, but they do have some freely available data too including road fatalities by type of road, road usage (pedestrians, bicyclists, motorized two-wheelers, or cars), or age.

ITF Statistics
Statistical reports, tables, and graphs area available in the following topic areas: infrastructure investment; quarterly statistics and transport trends on freight transport, passenger transport, and road accidents; CO2 emissions; road taxation; and traffic safety.

Trends in the Transport Sector 1970-2006
"This report provides the reader with the first available internationally comparable figures on key transport trends. It analyses the transport situation in the western and eastern European countries, as well as the Baltic States and the CIS. For the first time, data are provided on transport among ECMT associated countries, Australia, Canada, Japan, Korea, Mexico, New Zealand and the USA. Coverage is provided for Freight Transport, Passenger Transport, and Road Safety for 1970, 1990, 2000, 2004, and 2005."

OECDiLibrary - OECD FactBook - Road Fatalities

United Nations Economic Commision for Europe

Transport Statistics Home
Collects and compiles transporation statistics from UN member states, including data on road traffic, railways, inland waterways, oil pipeline transport, and infrastructure.  Access data through the online database or from the publications list.  Most current publications are available online.  Check the library catalog for availability of previous editions in print.  Select titles below:

Statistics of Road Traffic Accidents in Europe and North America
Available online (2004-present) and in print (up to 2003).

Annual Bulletin of Transportation Statistics for Europe and North America
Available online (2004-present) and in print (up to 2003)


Data on EU traffic (in vehicle-kilometres or VKM) and EU transport (passenger-kilometres (PKM) or tonne-kilometres (TKM)) by the individual modes: road, rail, pipeline, inland waterway, sea and air.  Available in online tables and database and print publications.

Panorama of Transport
This book presents a a statistical analysis of transport in the European Union.
Availablity: Panorama of Transport 1990-2006 (online), Panorama of Transport 1970-1999 (print).

World Bank Open Data

World Development Indicators
Look under the Infrastructure section for selected variables on air transport, roads, gasoline consumption, etc.  The World Development Indicators (WDI) provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960.

Michigan State University