Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Business

Collection Management Issues

  1. Duplicate copies
    • Duplicate copies located in Main should be weeded from Business especially if it is older material, unless usage is high.
    • Duplicate copies in the collection should be weeded, unless usage is very high.
    • Duplicate copies are usually not purchased. However, the Popular Business Collection does have a few duplications with the Main Library if it is a popular book.
  2. Replacements
    • Decisions about replacements are made on case-by-case basis.
  3. Preservation
    • The preservation policies of the MSU Libraries are incorporated into the collection maintenance activities of the business bibliographers.
  4. Gifts
    • Materials are accepted with the understanding that most items received may not be added to the collection. The library reserves the right to dispose of unneeded materials by sale, as giveaways, or as an exchange or gift to other libraries. A donor may be asked to list titles and volumes if journals so that the library can check holdings before accepting anything. The following types of material are normally not accepted: titles already owned, outdated textbooks, older material, and books in poor condition. Donors are encouraged to discuss potential donations directly with a librarian prior to bringing gifts to the library.
  5. Reviewing
    • Through appropriate collection renewal activities, including deselection, relocation and replacement, the collection is regularly reviewed.
  6. Textbooks
    • Textbooks are not purchased.
Michigan State University