Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Appeasement: Great Britain in the 1930s: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

British Political Facts, 1900-1994

Main JN 231 .B8 2000
Source of information for who was who, when, and where in the British government.

Longman Companion to Britain in the Era of the Two World Wars, 1914-1945

Main DA 566 .T54 1994
Chronology, names of ministers, information on elections, information on party politics, information on minor political parties, social and economic information, information on foreign affairs and the empire, and short bibliographies on various topics.

Twentieth-Century Britain, an Encyclopedia

Main DA 566 .T835 1995
Topical articles, including biographies, with bibliographical references at the end. A way to learn a little about a topic and find further references to go on to. Covers topics in communications, economics and finance, foreign and imperial relations, government, industry and labor, organizations, politics,social life, etc.

Historical Dictionary of British Foreign Policy Main DA 45 .N48 2013

Several hundred entries on important people, places, and events in British and Northern Irish foreign policy since 1782, when the Foreign Office was created.  List of abbreviations of organizations. Chronology from 1702-2012.  Introductory essay. List of British prime ministers and foreign secretaries, with dates of service. List of permanent undersecretaries at the Foreign Office, with dates of service. 18 page overall bibliography at end of book arranged chronologically, covering 19th and 20th centuries.  Length of entries: a paragraph to a couple of pages.  All entries by the author, who is a specialist on appeasement and on British policy towards Vietnam.

Britain and the World, 1815-1986: a Dictionary of International Relations

Main  DA 45 .W45 1987
A dictionary on British foreign policy and international relations. Includes historical and biographical entries and definitions of terms and concepts used in diplomacy and international relations. Maps. Some further references.

Encyclopedia of the Literature of Empire  Reference PN 56 .I465 S66 2010

Historical Dictionary of British Radio Main PN 1991.3 .G7 S77 2015

Contains a chronology, introduction, and extensive bibliography.  800 entries on issues, characters, movements, and policies that have shaped radio in the U.K.

Michigan State University