A. Anticipated Future Trends
A major trend influencing the collection development in the Allied Health Collection is the continuing demand for access to electronic scholarly journals as the importance of access to printed journals is diminishes. Online reference works are also increasing in importance and demand over their print counterparts.
B. Relationships with Other Resources
Patrons can obtain materials from other Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) libraries and the Michigan Research Libraries Triangle (MRLT) through interlibrary loan services. MSU is a member of the CIC and the MRLT. Access to many journals online in these subject areas is made available through CIC consortia agreements for journal packages. MRLT is a cooperative, which maintains reciprocal borrowing agreements with the University of Michigan and Wayne State University.
C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements
Because of the broad range of subjects that a student searching the Allied Health Collection will find relevant, acquisition policy for materials covered by other collection statements will also be of interest:
The Human Medicine Collection Policy covers materials concerning otolaryngology, anatomy, neurology, and other clinical subjects.
The Linguistics Collection Policy covers materials concerning phonetics, and the syntactic, semantic and pragmatic development of language.
The Education Collection Policy covers materials concerning speech education, deaf education, special education, and speech for prospective teachers.
The Biological/Biomedical Collection Policy covers materials in genetics, neuroscience, physiology, pharmacology, biochemistry