Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Biological Sciences/Natural History

Relationship With Other Resources

On campus branch or format collections:

The Main Library enjoys a reciprocal relationship with the Gull Lake Library at the Kellogg Biological Station. The two libraries' biological collections are shared between them in order to make use of resources not duplicated in one of the libraries or to share extra copies of heavily used items. Special Collections in the Main Library houses older and more valuable biological resources. 

Regional or network resources, if any:

Libraries at the University of Michigan and Wayne State University both have strong biological collections, with the U. of Michigan having the larger collection. Other strong collections in the region include those at Ohio State University, University of Illinois, Indiana University, and University of Wisconsin.

Relationships to resources treated in other policy statements:
Mathematics: mathematical models
Gull Lake: ecology, limnology, fisheries, waterfowl, historical entomology

 

Relationsips With Other Resources

On campus branch or format collections:

The Main Library enjoys a reciprocal relationship with the Gull Lake Library at the Kellogg Biological Station. The two libraries' biological collections are shared between them in order to make use of resources not duplicated in one of the libraries or to share extra copies of heavily used items. Special Collections in the Main Library houses older and more valuable biological resources. The Mathematics Library is used to a lesser extent for mathematical biology materials.

Regional or network resources, if any:

Libraries at the University of Michigan and Wayne State University both have strong biological collections, with the U. of Michigan having the larger collection. All of the other CIC institutions also have strong collections in the biological sciences. Several consortial purchases have been made by the CIC for electronic journal packages including these subject areas.

Relationships to resources treated in other policy statements:

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of biological research today, many biological materials may fall under more than one collection policy. Other collection development policies that cover some of the biological sciences and overlap somewhat with this policy include:

Biological/Biomedical Sciences:  cellular & molecular areas of biology, physiology, and biochemistry of plants and animals

Mathematics: mathematical models and biostatistics

Gull Lake: ecology, limnology, fisheries, waterfowl, historical entomology

Botany:  plant biology

Agriculture:  applied areas of biology related to agricultural research

Animal Science:  applied areas of biology related to food animal agriculture, breeding, and behavior

Veterinary Medicine:  clinical veterinary research and textbooks, animal behavior and health

Michigan State University