Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Botany

Analysis of the Subject Field

A. Chronology of the Subject:

The collection currently emphasizes newer research, trends, and regional floristic studies. Historical material is purchased to a small degree with endowment funds, although the historical literature in the collection is maintained. Journal literature covers all aspects of the field.

B. Languages of Resources Collected:

Primarily English language materials are currently collected. Historical literature is in a variety of languages, mostly European.

C. Geography of the Subject:

No specific geographic considerations are made when forming this collection. An effort is made, in fact, to have botanical materials for all parts of the world.

D. Format of the Resources Collected:

Professional journal literature (both print and electronic), monographs, government publications, websites, field guides, bibliographies, and other print formats are all collected. There are no restrictions on non-print resources. Due to the high demand for convenient access to information electronic journals are given priority whenever possible.

Research data - particularly data which is not already openly available or that cannot/will not be placed in existing research data repositories is not normally collected but may be collected if it otherwise meets collection development guidelines for research data. For additional about the guidelines, please see MSU's Digital Research Data Collection Development Policy.

E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected:

Current research is emphasized. Presently, there is little retrospective collecting.

Michigan State University