Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Computer Science

Analysis of the Subject Field

Chronology of the subject: emphases/restrictions

The collection emphasizes scholarly computer science materials. The purchase of computer certification test guides/manuals is restricted.

Languages of resources collected: exclusions/emphases/translations

Materials are collected primarily in English.

Geography of the subject: emphases/restrictions

The collection emphasizes North American and Western Europe materials.

Format of the resources collected: restrictions if any.

While the primary format is still print many materials are received in print and electronic format with some materials in electronic-only format. Software and supplemental material in digital formats are sent to the Software Collection in the Main Library.

Research data - particularly data which is not already openly available or that cannot/will not be placed in existing research data repositories is not normally collected but  may be collected if it otherwise meets collection development guidelines for research data. For additional about the guidelines, please see MSU's Digital Research Data Collection Development Policy.

Date of publication of resources collected: emphases if any.

The bulk of the collection dates from the mid-1960's to the present. The emphasis is on recent materials. Maintaining an historical collection is not a priority. Older materials are deselected according to Library policies and procedure.

Michigan State University