Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Engineering

Analysis of the Subject Field

A. Chronology of the subject: emphases/restrictions

No attempt is made to do retrospective collection building. Current materials are emphasized.

B. Languages of resources collected:

exclusions/emphases/translations

English is the primary language of materials acquired. Materials in other languages are acquired on a case by case basis.

C. Geography of the subject: emphases/restrictions

The goal of the collection is to obtain English language materials regardless of the country of origin. In practice this means primarily publications from North America and Western Europe with some publications from Asia and other parts of the world.

D. Format of the resources collected: restrictions if any

Currently no microforms  are collected. Videos resources are evaluated on a case-by-basis and be may be collected if they meet collection development guidelines. Software is not collected unless it is received as a supplement to a printed work. CD-ROM based materials are not actively collected but are added to the collection if they are received as part of standing order or received as a gift and meet collection development guidelines. Materials available only on CD-ROM will be considered for purchase. Network accessible resources are the preferred format when available and affordable.

Research data - particularly data which is not already openly available or that cannot/will not be placed in existing research data repositories is not normally collected but  may be collected if it otherwise meets collection development guidelines for research data. For additional about the guidelines, please see MSU's Digital Research Data Collection Development Policy.

Michigan State University