Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Environmental Studies: Purpose or Scope of Collection

Purpose or Scope of Collection

A. Curricular, Research and Programmatic Needs

The collection supports the curricular and research needs of faculty with environmental science and policy interests, specifically the Environmental Science and Policy Program (ESPP) faculty, and provides resources for students at the undergraduate and graduate levels. The ESPP is composed of over 160 faculty from 11 colleges across campus. Current faculty and graduate student research interests and applied experience in environmental science and policy cross a broad spectrum of disciplines and include agriculture, anthropology, engineering, geography, natural resources, political science, sociology, and zoology. This is reflected in the broad range of materials selected for the collection.

B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases

The environmental studies collection is highly interdisciplinary. In the past, all bibliographers were responsible for buying materials in this subject area (as it pertained to their disciplines). In the mid-1990's, it was felt that some areas relating to environmental studies were falling through the cracks. So, the EVP fund was set up to purchase materials on environmental topics across all disciplines.

Related Degrees, Specializations, and Programs

  • Doctoral specialization, Environmental Science and Policy Program
  • BS, Environmental Studies and Applications - Department of Community Sustainability.  The Department of Community Sustainability (CSUS) is a new multidisciplinary department that focuses on combining the natural and social sciences to address contemporary issues of sustainability in agriculture, recreation, natural resources, and the environment. The Department of Community Sustainability (CSUS) was formerly called the Department of Community, Agriculture, Recreation, and Resource Studies (CARRS). On January 31, 2013, Acting Provost June Youatt approved the new name because it better captures the essence of the goals of the department and creates a framework for its research and outreach programs of the future. This change is effective July 1, 2013. Consistent with its mission to assist in the development of sustainable communities, the department will continue offering an undergraduate majors--Environmental Studies and Agriscience.
  • Undergraduate specialization, Environmental Studies - Residential Initiative on the Study of the Environment (RISE).  The specialization in Environmental Studies is designed to increase undergraduate students’ understanding of the physical environment that is inhabited and influenced by humans, and the ways in which direct and indirect policy-making by social, economic, and political institutions affect environmental issues. Incoming freshmen may elect to participate in the Residential Initiative on the Study of the Environment (RISE). RISE students are housed in Hubbard Hall, where several of the required courses are taught. This integrated living-learning environment allows students from the several colleges and disciplines to develop a sense of community and promotes a team approach to solving environmental problems.
  • Interdisciplinary concentration, Environmental Policy - Interdisciplinary Studies in Social Science

Note : During the coming 2013/2014 academic year, all specializations on campus will  be reworked into the more commonly used minor category.  We will follow the documentation provided to the University Curriculum Committee to see what departmental and college affiliations are spelled out.

 
 

© 2014 Michigan State University Board of Trustees.

Privacy Statement