Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Asian Pacific American Studies: Purpose of Collection

Purpose of Collection

The Asian Pacific American Studies Collection Development Policy Statement identifies selection criteria for building a multi-disciplinary collection of relevant and quality materials. It identifies the responsibility for building and maintaining the collection, the purpose and the scope of the collection, and guidelines for the selection and retention decisions for these materials. It is a development and planning instrument to communicate with MSU Libraries staff and the University community. The selector of the collection is the Ethnic Studies Bibliographer.

The selection of materials representing the Asian Pacific American experience in the MSU Libraries is designed to support interdisciplinary study, instruction, and research for Asian Pacific American studies at the undergraduate and graduate level and in particular, the Asian Pacific American Studies Program at MSU. The titles selected for Asian Pacific American studies pertain to the experiences of persons with continental Asian and Oceania ancestry in the United States (e.g. these include Japan, Korea, China, Laos, Philippines, Bangladesh, Iran, Iraq, India). These titles reflect issues in the social sciences and the humanities and include scholarly and authoritative informational works. Titles considered "Popular Culture" may be selected to serve research needs. The primary users of the collection are students and faculty in the Asian Pacific American Studies Program, American Studies Program and students and faculty with research and teaching interests in classes studying the Asian Pacific American experience, perspectives and contributions.

 
 

© 2014 Michigan State University Board of Trustees.

Privacy Statement