Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Asian Pacific American Studies

Out of Scope Subjects or Materials Not Collected

Asian materials:

Materials with an exclusive focus on Asia or individual Asian nations, issues, and other concerns are not collected by the Asian American Studies bibliographer. Requests for Asian materials will be referred to the Asian Studies bibliographer. Comparative materials including both Asian and Asian American issues or perspectives will be considered by the Asian American Studies bibliographer if they deal primarily with the United States.  Otherwise, they will be referred to other subject specialists with geographic area responsibilities or the Area Studies Coordinator.

International Asian diaspora materials:

Materials with an exclusive focus on the Asian/Pacific diaspora experience in any country except the United States (for example, Great Britain, Canada, Haiti, or Latin American countries) are not selected by the Asian American Studies bibliographer, but by the Asian Studies bibliographer or other area studies bibliographers. Comparative materials including both non-US Asian diaspora and Asian Pacific American issues or perspectives will be considered by the Asian American Studies bibliographer if they deal primarily with the United States.  Otherwise they will be referred to the appropriate Asian Studies bibliographer or Area Studies Coordinator.

Juvenile materials:

Juvenile materials (meaning materials intended for a pre-school, elementary, middle school or junior high level audience) may be selected for the Children and Young Adult Collection. Secondary materials, such as bibliographies, finding tools, and original scholarly research on the topic of children's materials as relevant to Asian Pacific American populations in the United States, may be collected in consultation with the Children's Literature Specialist.

Michigan State University