Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Education: Purpose or Scope of Collection

Written by: Kate Corby Date Drafted: 4/1/93 Date Revised: 11/16/98, 3/9/99, 4/13/01, 3/28/05, 2/12/07

Purpose or Scope of Collection

A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic needs

The education collection serves the College of Education and its broad-spectrum curriculum to meet the varied needs of modern educators. The College awards undergraduate degrees in elementary and special education and the secondary education teaching minor. The teaching minor in particular generates specific demands on the collection from the viewpoint of educators in all the various fields covered in elementary and secondary education. Graduate programs for the Master, Specialist, and Doctor degrees, allow students to chose an emphasis from more than 20 distinct possibilities in fields like curriculum; K-12 administration; adult education; school psychology; special education; counseling; and measurement and quantitative methods.

Research is a major component of the College's mission. External funding has facilitated the establishment of research centers and institutes, among them the Center for Scholarship of Teaching, the Institute for Research on Teaching and Learning, the Center for Mathematics and Science Education Research, and the Michigan Center for Career & Technical Education. These centers enhance the College's national and international reputation and tend to broaden the base of researchers utilizing the Libraries' resources.

Programs in other colleges, such as Child Development, currently in the Department of Family and Child Ecology and Psychology are also served by the education collection.

The general public also makes use of the education collection.

B. History of the Collection/Existing strengths and emphases.

M.S.U. has long had a strong, diverse education collection. An early emphasis on teacher education has gradually expanded to the entire spectrum of educational concerns as the College's research activity has expanded. Of the 17 libraries with 1.5 million or more titles in the North American Title Count (NATC), 1997, the MSU collection ranked 13th in size, but 4th in percentage of total collection. A comparison with other CIC libraries within the WorldCat Collection Analysis system shows that we continue to have a strong education collection, well above the midline. Based on NACT, M.S.U. strengths are in the areas of theory into practice, African and Asian Education, and teaching practice magazines. The materials on Africa and Asia, while falling within the education collection for purposes of the NATC, are often selected by the area studies bibliographers as an element of overall coverage of an area. MSU is also strong in campus radicalism and rural education/agricultural extension collection, although once again these materials are not generally purchased from education funds; the strength comes from Special Collections and Agriculture. The Libraries do not attempt to collect elementary and secondary texts or children's literature. Children’s literature is available to MSU education students through an agreement with the East Lansing Public Library and through the statewide book exchange service of MelCat. The University has never maintained a curriculum materials collection. College of Education faculty have argued that students well grounded in instructional theory will have little use for such items. The Libraries have begun collecting a few curriculum related materials in electronic formats to facilitate instruction in the integration of technology into the classroom.

 
 

© 2014 Michigan State University Board of Trustees.

Privacy Statement