A. Anticipated future trends
The College of Education very clearly intends to maintain its national leadership position, especially in the field of teacher education. Involvement in programs like the Third International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS) and the conduct of research in affiliated institutes have brought national attention and prestige. International concerns, especially education for development in the third world, are also an increasing interest. An historic interest in African countries has recently expanded to cooperative ventures in Asian countries such as Thailand and China. The College is investing in electronic resources both to train it’s own students and to assist practicing teachers in utilizing these resources in their teaching. This provides a strong basis for continuing strength and growth over a broad subject area.
B. Relationships with other resources
C. Relationships to resources treated in other policy statements.
Psychology is the field with the strongest link to education, but many other subjects, e.g. mathematics and art, produce a substantial literature on teaching. Selectors for specific disciplines that also serve secondary education students often purchase materials that discuss teaching techniques. The education selector buys materials that are more heavily pedagogical in such disciplines, often dividing responsibility based on the classification of the material ("L" classifications are purchased by Education). Support of the information needs of the College of Education rests with the Education selector, who retains responsibility for assuring that no part of the curriculum is overlooked. Many organizations collected by Government Documents are significant publishers of educational materials. Kinesiology, a Department of the College of Education is a separate fund within the Libraries collection structure. Collection for Kinesiology follows the pattern of other subjects described above, the Education selector buys in the "L" classification, the Kinesiology selector buys in the subject area, the education selector is responsible for assuring that the collection as a whole supports the pedagogical instruction needs of the College.
Area studies will require increasing amounts of cooperation between selectors. The education bibliographer has traditionally purchased materials about these areas as they interest researchers in the College of Education. As the College increases it's interest in other parts of the world, the number of items purchased by the education fund will increase. It is important to understand that, in meeting the needs of the College of Education, the education bibliographer is taking responsibility only for the pedagogical interest in these regions. The adequacy of our collection for coverage of the historic and political record remains the responsibility of area studies.