Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Education

Analysis of the Subject Field

A. Chronology of the subject: emphases/restrictions

Emphasis is on education in the last quarter of the twentieth century and beyond. Significant works on the history of education and its methodology are collected from all time periods.

B. Languages of resources collected: exclusions-emphases-translations

English is overwhelmingly the primary language of the collection. Other, mostly European languages, have been acquired as appropriate, largely in response to our interest in education in developing countries. Much of the material, particularly foreign language material, about education in the developing world is purchased by the area selectors. Education, preparation for work, and political analysis are intimately tied in much of this literature, thus it is not wholly or even primarily pedagogical in nature. Translations of significant works, particularly those we have not been able to acquire in their original language, will be collected.

C. Geography of the subject: emphases/restrictions

The United States is the primary focus of the collection. Materials from Great Britain and Canada are also widely collected. Some materials from Australia are increasingly available and of interest, especially as they discuss education of minority populations. Materials from Asia, Africa, Latin America and other countries of Europe receive a secondary emphasis from the education selector, but may be collected in more depth as part of the area studies program.

D. Format of the resources collected: restrictions if any

Print and online electronic materials are the primary formats of the collection. Reference materials and serial publications, notably the periodical indexes, are available on a variety of electronic platforms. Electronic resources are purchased only after consideration of how they fit into the totality of the Libraries’ electronic offerings and are often not the decision of the subject selector.

The ERIC document collection is a vital resource, providing conference papers, research reports, association publications and some independent publications. From 1966-1993 it is largely a microfiche collection and is not duplicated by print purchases, except for a few high use items. The documents collection transitioned to an electronic collection from 1993-2003. From 2004 forward it will gradually become available in electronic format. Recognizing the needs of remote users and the convenience of electronic format the U.S. Department of Education made the decision that ERIC documents will be available only in electronic form and only from the Department's servers. There will no longer be any opportunity to own ERIC documents.

The increasing use of online courses and the development of an entirely electronic Masters level program in Education increase the emphasis on making journals and other similar high importance information available in electronic format. Such classes also make greater use of videotape and other similar visual information sources which will be collected in a limited way as affordable.

Due to budget restraints and the need for the collection to support the College's inclusive curriculum, paperbound materials and alternative formats such as microform will be purchased whenever cost effective.

Textbooks are purchased only selectively generally only if they provide a valuable current synthesis of a complex or developing area of study; later editions of texts very selectively; theses and dissertations only when a specific need is demonstrated.

E. Date of publication of resources collected: emphases if any

Emphasis is on current imprints. Retrospective purchasing will be very selective and will try to utilize the less expensive formats, such as microforms.

F. Data Collection

MSU Libraries now collect data obtained through research conducted by Education faculty. Both quantitative and qualitative data in any format will be considered. For local guidelines on data collection see our libguide on Digital Research Data Collection. Other possible depositories to store and share your data for education research are ICPSR from the University of Michigan, Harvard Dataverse Network, and the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). Databib is a helpful tool to search across open data repositories. Locally, the Institute for Research on Teaching and Learning (IRTL) in the College of Education can help with data management and storing research data.

Michigan State University