Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Classical Studies

Factors Influencing Collection Policy

A. Anticipated Future Trends

The Library has acquired a solid, well-balanced collection in Classics over the years, sufficient to provide adequate instructional support through the M.A. level. It is not likely that a basic undergraduate level collection in Classical Studies will ever be deemed unneeded. While instructional needs have not increased in many years, there has been some renewed interest in archaeology that may eventually create a higher level of need and cause the collection to change.

The Library has made an assessment of the collection, detailing the financial commitment necessary to support a program in classical archaeology covering the frontiers of the Roman Empire—Europe and N. Africa, and excluding Asia Minor. The Library has only a basic journal collection in archaeology; it lacks several important titles and many backruns. It is the latter, which would account for the highest expenditure. To transform the Library’s holdings into a cohesive collection would require a substantial ongoing commitment beyond the present level of support, probably several thousand dollars per year, and guaranteed continuing support for periodicals and serials.

Since the assessment was written the University undertook the reappraisals of CRUE and R3. The faculty of the Departments of Romance and Classical Languages were moved to the renovated Old Horticulture building with the result that the main Arts and Humanities faculty - English, History, Art History, Philosophy, along with Romance and Classical Languages are all north of the Red Cedar River. Classical Studies as an interdisciplinary entity was thus felt to be more cohesive.

B. Relationships with Other Resources

  1. On campus branch or format collections: The Fine Arts Library (an internal branch within the Main Library) houses many of the excavation series as well as the book collection relating to ancient art. The Kresge Art Museum and its collections of artifacts as well as slides is also an important campus resource.

  2. Regional or network resources:

    2.1 The University of Michigan is an important resource for literary works not owned by MSU, especially older or rare editions. UM, moreover, with an established graduate program in Classics through the Ph.D. level collects many areas MSU does not, for instance, the ancient Near East, Egyptology, papyrology, numismatics, etc. In addition, the Kelsey Museum in Ann Arbor sponsors and publishes excavation reports on the classical world.

    2.2 Wayne State University’s programs support the MA in the teaching of classics, and are heavily involved in etymological studies as well as some papyrology. The Detroit Institute of Art is another resource for classical art.

C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements

History (Ancient and Medieval) Art (Art History and Architecture)
Anthropology/Folklore Religious Studies
Literature, American/English (translations and comparative literature, criticism) Africa (Egypt and North Africa) Europe, Southern (Romance Languages)
Near East (Archaeology); Israel, Judaism Linguistics; etymology; etc.
Human Medicine (i.e. medical texts; medical humanities) Philosophy (i.e. texts; western tradition; ethics, etc.)

Michigan State University