Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Russia, Eastern Europe and Central Asia

Analysis of the Subject Field

  • A. Chronology of the Subject: Emphases/Restrictions

    In Literature, chronology emphasizes 19th and 20th century for all countries. Some selective coverage of medieval/early modern Russian literature.

    In History, chronology for Russia emphasizes 19th and 20th century. English language coverage back to 800AD (formation of the Kievan State); selective Russian language coverage for 12th-18th centuries.

    Polish history: In English, coverage is back to approx. 1400AD (formation of Polish-Lithuanian state); emphasis is on 19th and 20th century. Polish language materials are purchased for 19th and 20th century history only.

    For the rest of Eastern Europe, emphasis is on 19th and 20th century; selective English language materials from earlier periods.

  • B. Languages of Resources collected: Exclusions/Emphases/Translations

    Emphasis is on comprehensive collection of English-language materials. Russian is next preferred language. Vernaculars of Eastern Europe are collected selectively: Serbian, Croatian, Bulgarian, Slovenian, Romanian and Hungarian are largely not collected (see exceptions below). Central Asian languages are not collected: Russian language materials on Central Asia are. Armenian, Azeri, and Georgian are not collected. Exceptions are made only for special publications (ususally statistics) that are published in both Russian and the vernacular of that country.

    In literature, the emphasis is on vernacular and English translations of works by well-known authors. This includes especially the literature of Russia, Poland, and Ukraine. Other countries' literatures are collected in translation when possible, in the vernacular as budgetary limitations allow. Of special interest is the literature of Estonia, Lithuania and Latvia (due to collaborative collection development agreement with U. Michigan)

  • C. Geography of the Subject: Emphases/Restrictions

    Materials are purchased from and dealing with Russia, Central Asia, and the countries of Eastern Europe, including the Baltic states. Emphasis is on Russia and Poland; Ukraine and Baltic states to a lesser extent. Least emphasis is placed on the countries of the Balkans (former Yugoslavia, Croatia, Slovenia, Romania, Bulgaria and Albania) because of collaborative collection development with University of Michigan. Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Georgia are covered very selectively.

  • D. Format of the Resources Collected: Restrictions

    Emphasis is on print materials. Microforms are acquired when print is not available. Newspapers and general periodicals are acquired very selectively. CD-Rom, software, and audio products are occasionally purchased for reference purposes or language learning aids. Electronic database subscriptions are selectively obtained via consortial agreements only and as budgetary limits allow. Films are purchased on DVD unless that format is not available.

  • E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected: Restrictions

    Mostly current materials are acquired. Out-of-print titles are purchased to fill in runs of serials, monographic sets, and replace lost or stolen materials. Older, in print materials are acquired to fill in monographic sets or in the areas of special faculty interest. 

Michigan State University