Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Political Science/Public Policy

Factors Influencing Collection Policy

A. Background information :

  • The Political Science graduate program at Michigan State University was ranked 32nd in the country by chairs and senior faculty according to the 2013 America's Best Graduate Schools
  • Michigan State University ranked 27th in producting political science professors nationwise according to an article in Inside Higher Education, September 3, 2013, by Scott Jaschik.  Read more at : http://www.insidehighered.com/news/2013/09/03/study-examines-trends-phd-programs-produce-political-science-professors#ixzz33VrHWNRf
  • Tied for 28th in Political Science (2009), according to the U.S. News and World Report, 2009.
  • Tied for 22nd in Political Science (2005) according to the U.S. News and World Report, March 31, 2008.
  • Although Michigan State only ranks 26th according to a National Research Council Survey which heavily weights national reputation, it ranks 16th in the country in terms of placing PhD graduates into faculty positions according to a new study by PS: Political Science & Politics. A Ranking That Would Matter, Inside Higher Education, August 21, 2007.
  • The Political Science graduate program at Michigan State University were ranked 22nd in the country by chairs and senior faculty according to the 2006 America's Best Graduate Schools, by U.S. News & World Report. Its program in American politics was ranked 16th and in methods 14th
  • According to a US News and World Report article, the Ph.D. program in Political Science at MSU ranked 22nd out of approximately 50 schools in the country in 2001 (see http://web.archive.org/web/20020207123929/http://www.usnews.com/usnews/edu/beyond/gradrank/gbpolisc.htm) while the Master's in Public Administration and Public Policy was tied for 52nd place out of 125 in the country (see http://web.archive.org/web/20020212030444/http://www.usnews.com/usnews/edu/beyond/gradrank/gbpubadm.htm)
  • The Department of Political Science at Michigan State University has long been a leader in the discipline. Founded in 1949, the Department was a pioneering center of activity during the behavioral revolution that swept the social sciences in the 1950s and 1960s. Today, it continues to serve as a role model in promoting high-caliber research and teaching. MSU’s political scientists are highly-productive and widely recognized scholars who publish on a regular basis in top-ranked professional journals and prestigious university presses; they are actively engaged in a range of externally-funded research projects; and they hold prominent leadership positions in major professional organizations.
  • Although focused on training Ph.D. students to be future leaders in the academic profession, the department realizes that many students are more interested in working for government, the nonprofit sector, and other fields.

B. Programmatic Information :

  • In general, we attempt to collect a wide variety of indexing and abstracting tools, periodicals and journals, as well as other research materials to support the undergraduate, master, and PhD programs offered by the MSU Department of Political Science; the various specializations emphasized by the undergraduate James Madison College; and the research and technical assistance programs undertaken by various Institutes on campus.
  • The primary emphases of the Department of Political Science include: public administration (including public finance, public health, and social welfare and service delivery); general political science (including American politics, comparative politics, international politics, public policy, political thought, formal theory and research methodology); and prelaw. Political science graduates tend to seek administrative positions in local, state, or federal government, or in public and private agencies; work with citizen action groups and the various voluntary organizations of the nonprofit sector; in the foreign service or with various governmental and private international agencies; and as teachers or policy analysts in law fields.
  • The James Madison College is another division on campus that makes heavy use of political science and public policy materials. JMC students focus on political and legal theory, international relations, political economy, and/or social relations. Graduates from this undergraduate program tend to pursue careers in government, politics, administration, business, foreign service, and social services, or else pursue graduate degrees in law and various other social science fields.
  • Various other institutes on campus make use of these materials, including the Institute for Public Policy and Social Research, the Institute for Children, Youth, and Families, etc. They tend to focus on local, state, and national issues. However, there are an increasing number of programs emphicizing the impact of international problems on domestic issues.
  • The Department of Political Science is an active participant in the Environmental Science and Policy, Global Urban Studies, and Family Research Institute interdisciplinary programs.

C. Interdisciplinary Information :

  • Political Science/Public Policy (also called Policy Sciences) is probably one of the most interdisciplinary fields in the social sciences and area studies, and course and research activities are not confined to the various units mentioned under "Programmatic Information". Other programs with considerable overlap include: Business, Criminal Justice, Environmental Studies, Law, Sociology, Social Work, Urban Affairs, Area Studies, and International Relations/Development.
  • The bibliographers responsible for political science/policy sciences should remain vigilant to avoid unnecessary duplication and explore splitting the funding of expensive purchases such as databases with the bibliographers in these many areas. In addition, the bibliographer for policy sciences should be familiar with the various collections housed in the Government Documents and Maps Department, including State of Michigan, U.S., International, and Maps, and avoid duplicating materials that are housed there.
Michigan State University