Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Gull Lake Library

Levels of Collecting Intensity

(Use Conspectus divisions and/or compilations thereof followed by the RLG collection intensity level. Notes, if any, should be uniformly brief.)
NOTE: The following analysis of collecting levels refers only to the holdings in Gull Lake Library. For library wide levels see the policies listed in II C above.
Click here for an explanation of the RLG Conspectus levels

LC Classification Subject
RLG Conspectus Level
GB625 Wetlands--Great Lakes and Great Lakes Region (.G69-.G7). Lakes States (.L34). Michigan (.M5)
2
GB635 Dunes--Great Lakes and Great Lakes Region (.G69-.G7). Lakes States (.L34). Michigan (.M5)
1
GB645.G8-GB645.M5 Frozen ground. Cold regions--United States-Great Lakes Region & Michigan
1
GB656-GB656.2 Hydrology. Water--Methodology
1
GB658-GB658.8 Hydrology. Water--Study and teaching. Research
1
GB658.7-GB658.8 Hydrology. Water--Study and teaching. Research--By region or country
1
GB705 Hydrology. Water--Great Lakes and Great Lakes Region (.G69-.G7). Lakes States (.L34). Michigan (.M5)
2
GB842 Forest hydrology
2
GB980-GB1998 Ground and surface waters
2
GB2601-GB2798 Snow and snow surveys
1
QH13 Natural history (General)--Dictionaries and encyclopedias
2
QH35 Natural history (General)--Directories
1
QH49 Natural history (General)--Vocational guidance
1
QH50.5-QH53 Natural history (General)--Study and teaching. Research. Nature study
2
QH60-QH63 Natural history (General)--Technique. Collection and Preservation
3
QH75-QH81 Nature conservation. Landscape Protection. Nature Preserves
1
QH84-QH100 Natural history (General)--Geographical distribution. Biogeography. Phylogeography
3
QH302.5 Biology--Dictionaries and encyclopedias
1
QH304.5 Biology (General)--Terminology, notation, abbreviations
1
QH314 Biology (General)--Biology as a profession. Vocational guidance
1
QH317-QH318.5 Biology (General)--Study and teaching. Research
2
QH319 Biology (General)--Study and teaching. Research--Great Lakes and Great Lakes Region (.G69-.G7). Lakes States (.L34). Michigan (.M5)
3
QH320.C2 Biology (General)--Study and teaching. Research--Canada
2
QH320.O6 Biology (General)--Study and teaching. Research--Ontario
2
QH321-323.2 Biology (General)--Biological laboratories and stations
1
QH323.5 Biometry
2
QH324-324.9 Biology (General)--Methods of research. Technique. Experimental biology
3
QH323.7-QH344 Biology (General)--Biogeochemistry
3
QH352-QH353 Biology (General)--Population biology. Invasives
3
QH359-QH425 Evolution
3
QH456 Ecological genetics
2
QH540-QH541.5 Ecology
3
QH549.5 Ecology--Animal-plant relationships
3
QK7-QK9 Botany--Encyclopedias. Dictionaries
2
QK46.5.V44 Vegetation monitoring
2
QK50.5 Botany as a profession. Vocational guidance
1
QK53 Botany--Lab manuals
1
QK62 Vegetation surveys
2
QK63 Vegetation mapping
2
QK91-QK97 Botany--Classification
2
QK101-QK474.5 Botany--Geographical distribution. Phytogeography
2
QK474.8-495.Z Spermatophyta. Phanerogams
2
QK504-QK597.7 Cryptograms
2
QK861-899 Botanical chemistry. Phytochemicals
2
QK900-989 Plant ecology
3
QL7-QL9 Zoology--Reference sources
2
QL50.5 Zoology--Vocational guidance
1
QL53 Zoology--Lab manuals
2
QL60.4 Zoology--Radio tracking
2
QL120-149 Zoology--Physiographic divisions--Water
3
QL155-215 Zoology--United States
3
QL219-QL221 Zoology--Canada
2
QL351-355 Zoology--Classification. Systematics and taxonomy. Nomenclature
2
QL365.365 Invertebrates--Freshwater
3
QL365.4 Invertebrates--North America (United States and Canada)--General works
3
QL365.4.G8 Invertebrates--Great Lakes
3
QL365.U.U6 Invertebrates--North America (United States)
3
QL366-369.2 Protozoa
2
QL386-394 Worms and other vermiform invertebrates
1
QL396-399.2 Bryozoa (Ectoprocta. Polyzoa)
1
QL401-432 Mollusca
3
QL434-QL434.8 Arthropoda
2
QL435-QL445.2 Crustacea
2
QL461-472.3 Insects. General to Aquatic
2
QL743-QL476 Insects--North America
2
QL502.1A1-QL502.1 Apterygota--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL505.2 Ephemeroptera (Plectoptera, mayflies)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL505.85 Mantodea (Mantids)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL507.1 Orthoptera (Grasshoppers, locusts, etc.)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL509.6 Phasmatoptera (Phasmida, Stick insects)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL510.2 Dermaptera (Earwigs)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL512.1 Neuroptera--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL514.6 Megaloptera--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL514.8815 Raphidioptera--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL517.1 Trichoptera (Caddisflies)--North America (United States and Canada)
2
QL520.2 Odonata (Dragonflies, etc.)--North America (United States and Canada)
3
QL522.1 Hemiptera (Heteroptera, bugs)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL526.1 Homoptera (Aphids, cicadas, etc.)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL530.2 Plecoptera (Stoneflies)--North America (United States and Canada)
2
QL535.1 Diptera (Flies)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL539.2 Embioptera (Emboidea, web spinners)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL540.2 Mallophaga (Chewing lice)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL548-QL552 Lepidoptera (Butterflies, moths)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL567.1 Hymenoptera (Ants, bees, wasps, etc.)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL570.2 Anoplura (Sucking lice)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL581-585 Coleoptera (Beetles)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL598.2 Thysanoptera (Thrips)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL598.6 Mecoptera (Scorpionflies)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL599.2 Strepsiptera (Twisted-winged parasites)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL599.6 Siphonaptera (Fleas)--North America (United States and Canada)
1
QL606 Chordates. Vertebrates--North America (United States and Canada)
2
QL625-630 Fishes--North America
2
QL637.9-638.95 Fishes--Systematic divisions
2
QL640.7 Reptiles and amphibians--Dictionaries and encyclopedias
1
QL645.3-QL645.5 Reptiles and amphibians--Evolution
2
QL651-655 Reptiles and amphibians--North America
2
QL665-668 Reptiles and amphibians--Systematic divisions
2
QL671-699 Birds
3
QL700-739.8 Mammals
1
QL717 Mammals--United States--General works
2
QL719.G8-QL719.M5 Mammals--Great Lakes & Michigan
3
QL721.5.O6 Mammals--Canada--Ontario
2
QL750-795 Zoology--Animal behavior
3
QR9 Microbiology--Dictionaries and encyclopedias
1
QR11 Microbiology--Terminology. Notation. Abbreviations
1
QR12 Microbiology--Classification. Nomenclature
1
QR13 Microbiology--Evolution
3
QR72 Microbiology--Statistical methods
3
QR72.5 Microbiology--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
1
QR73.8 Microbiology--Microbial populations
3
QR100-130 Microbiology--Microbial ecology
3
S411 Agriculture (General)--Encyclopedias and dictionaries
1
S589.7 Agriculture (General)--Agricultural ecology (General)
3
S451.M5 Agriculture (General)--History and conditions--Michigan
3
S451.5.O6 Agriculture (General)--History and conditions--Canada--Ontario
2
S589.75-S589.76 Agriculture (General)--Agriculture and the environment
3
S590-599.9 Agriculture (General)--Soils. Soil science
3
S600-600.7 Agriculture (General)--Agricultural meteorology. Crops and climate
2
SB45 Plant culture--Encyclopedias and dictionaries
1
SB45.5 Plant culture--Nomenclature
1
SB50 Plant culture--Vocational guidance
1
SB83-85 Plant culture--United States
2
SB92-95 Plant culture--General works--General and popular works for special regions--United States
2
SB106 Plant culture--Special aspects of crops and plant culture as a whole--A-Z
2
SB107-109 Plant culture--Economic botany
3
SB113.2-118.46 Plant culture--Seeds. Seed technology
2
SB169-222 Plant culture--Crops
2
SB265-315 Plant culture--Other field crops includes Energy crops and Hydrocarbon-producing plants
2
SB317 Plant culture--Other economic crops
2
SB317.5-319.95 Plant culture--Horticulture. Horticultural crops
2
SB354-402 Plant culture--Fruit and fruit culture
2
SB403-450.87 Plant culture--Flowers and flower culture. Ornamental plants
2
SB599-990.5 Plant culture--Pests and diseases
3
SB992-998 Plant culture--Economic zoology applied to crops. Agricultural zoology
3
SD126 Forestry--Dictionaries and encyclopedias
1
SD140-144 Forestry--History of forestry. Forest conditions--America
1
SD356-356.54 Forestry--Forestry education. Study and teaching--Research. Experimentation
1
SD358.5-360 Forestry--Forestry education. Study and teaching--Experimental forests and areas
1
SD390-390.43 Forestry--Forest soils
1
SD390.5-SD390.7 Forestry--Forest meteorology. Forest microclimatology
1
SH20.2-191 Aquaculture
1
TC23.3 Hydraulic engineering--Country divisions (General hydraulic works)--Great Lakes region
1
TC27.O6 Hydraulic engineering--Country divisions (General hydraulic works)--Canada--Ontario
1
TC401-411 Hydraulic engineering--River, lake, and water-supply engineering (General)
1
TD23.3 Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering--Great Lakes region
1
TD24.M5 Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering--Michigan
1
TD419-428 Water pollution
1
Michigan State University