Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Eighteenth Century English Microform Holdings: STC (Books Printed in England, etc., 1470s-1700)

STC (Books Printed in England, etc., 1470s-1700)

Please see the electronic resource Early English Books Online, EEBO, which contains indexing and full texts of many of the books listed in these bibliographies below.  In addition, ESTC, English Short Title Catalogue online contains bibliographic records with library locations holding early English printed works today.

Pollard, Alfred W.  Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640.  London, the Bibliographical Society, 1926, revised 1946.  SPC Reference, Main, Microform Guides Z 2002 .A27 and 1946.

Wing, Donald. Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales and British America and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700. Revised and Edited by Timothy J. Crist, with the Assistance of Janice M. Hansel, et. al. NY, Modern Language Association of America, 1982.

Z 2002 f.W52 1972 v. 1-3 Main

F Morrison, Paul G. Index of Printers, Publishers, and Booksellers in Donald Wing's Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700. Charlottesville, Va., University of Virginia Press for the Bibliographical Society of the University of Virginia, 1955.

Z 2002 .W52 Index Microcopy Guides

Early English Books, 1641-1700, a Cumulative Index to Units 1-60 of the Microfilm Collection. Ann Arbor, Mich., UMI, 1990.

Z 2002 f.W5232 1990 v. 1-9 Microcopy Guides

STC Wing is the Microforms Library call number for the collection of books (primarily) now numbering upwards of 42,500 titles on microfilm that are part of the segment of the Short Title Catalogue project covering works published from 1641-1700 in Britain and British America. The previous set is called just "STC" and contains books on film published from 1475-1640. The succeeding set is the Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue and microfilm set, for which see the entry on pages 22 and 102.

The purpose of Donald Wing's book, originally published from 1945-51, was to list, using shortened titles, all books published during 1641-1700 in Britain or British America and to provide library locations for the titles. The 1972 edition of Wing includes more than 300 library locations of hard copies of the books. For relatively common books five British and five North American locations are given. For less common books whatever locations have been ascertained are given.

Titles on religion, politics, and history are the most numerous in the collection. The religious titles deal with controversies of the period, doctrines and practices of different denominations (Catholicism, Protestantism, Presbyterianism, Society of Friends, Church of England for example), sermons, Biblical commentaries, theology, church/state relations, and Christian life and ethics. The political and historical titles cover English constitutional history including proceedings of Parliament, royal proclamations, lives and reigns of Charles I and II, Oliver Cromwell, James II, William III and Mary II. Relations between England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland, and England's relations with the Continent, local history especially of London, and English overseas colonies are covered. Titles on the sciences are included, also English literature, the arts, and popular culture. English drama, prose and poetry and translations of classics and continental literature are to be found. Popular culture and arts of the period are reflected in the emblem books, cookbooks, almanacs, auction catalogs, and song texts and scores.

Wing gave each of his entries a number. Early English Books is the finding aid for locating titles in the microfilm set up to unit 60. For succeeding units some gray pamphlets are shelved after Early English Books to use to locate reels in the set. Both the Wing number and the microfilm reel number and position on the reel are given. Early English Books may be approached by title, author, subject, Wing number, and reel/position indexes.

Michigan State University