Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Finding British Parliamentary Papers in the M.S.U. Libraries, 2007 edition: Parliamentary Debates (Hansard) Full-Texts and Indexing

Parliamentary Debates (Hansard) Full-Texts and Indexing

The Parliamentary Debates, known as Hansard after the first government printer, are the official record of what is said on the floors of the House of Commons and the House of Lords. Below is a list of our holdings covering 18th century to present, with library locations, and call numbers. These sets have name and topic indexing at various points, for instance, at the back of the volume, at the end of the Parliamentary Session, or at the conclusion of a set. For earlier Debates’ volumes consult the earlier version of this research guide: Finding British Parliamentary Papers in the M.S.U. Libraries.

Collection of the Parliamentary Debates in England, 1668-1742. (Both Houses) J 301 .H8 v. 1-21 1742 Special Collections

Parliamentary Register or History of the Proceedings and Debates of the House of Commons…,1774-1801. J 301 .H2212 Main

Parliamentary Register…Debates…Two Houses of Parliament, 1801-1803. (Both Houses) J 301 .H2214 v. 104 Main

Parliamentary Register… Debates…Two Houses of Parliament, 1803/1809. (Both Houses) J 301 .H2215 v. 1-3 Main

Cobbett’s Parliamentary History of England from the Norman Conquest to the Year 1803. (Both Houses) J 301 .H22 v. 1-36 Main

[Parliamentary Debates]1804-1908. (Both Houses) J 301 .H222 Main

v. 1-41, 1803-1920. new series v. 1-25, 1820-1830. ser. 3, 1813-1891. ser. 4, 1892-1908

Parliamentary Debates…House of Lords 1909-1984/85. J 301 .H223 ser. 5 Main

Parliamentary Debates…House of Commons 1909-1980/81. J 301 .H224 ser. 5 Main

Parliamentary Debates…House of Commons 1980/81-1984.. J 301 .H224 ser. 6 Main

United Kingdom Parliament, current and some historical

A database of Parliamentary full-text material, searchable in its entirety or by type of publication. Separate pages for Commons and Lords. In the Commons’ pages, contains the debates (Hansard), 1988-, public bills before Parliament, a complete list of all public bills introduced in the current session, select committee reports, Weekly Information Bulletin from 1996/97, and Sessional Digest from 1995/96. Lords’ page leads to their debates from 1996, some select committee reports, and their judgments since 1996. Has links to significant historical documents.

Michigan State University