Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Endangered and Invasive Species Research Guide: Invasive, Noxious, Nonindigenous Species

Web resources

MICHIGAN

Invasive Species Initiative - MSU
Invasive species present one of today's most important environmental and social challenges. As a hub of international travel and commerce, Michigan and the Great Lakes region are particularly vulnerable to invasive species. Michigan State University has a diverse faculty and staff with internationally recognized expertise and programs on invasive species research, education and outreach. Invasive Species Initiative is supported by MSU's College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, College of Natural Science, Office of the Provost, Environmental Science and Policy Program, Department of Entomology and Department of Plant Biology.

Invasive Species Program / Great Lakes Science Center, USGS 

Michigan Invasive Plant Council 
MIPC is a group of people that share a common concern about the effects of invasive plants in our state. We are a non-profit organization spanning a wide array of groups from governmental agencies, to commercial enterprises, conservation organizations, educational institutions and the gardening public. MIPC is an affiliate organization of the Southeast Exotic Pest Plant Council, which is recognized by the Internal Revenue Service as a non-profit [501(3) c] entity.
Addtional MIPC links: http://forestry.msu.edu/mipc/links.htm

Michigan Natural Features Inventory - Invasive Species
Includes links to Michigan Invasive Plant Species Fact Sheets and other resources.

Michigan Sea Grant - Aquatic Invasive Species 

Nonindigenous Aquatic Species (NAS) - Plant list for Michigan

National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC) - State Laws and Regulations - Michigan

NATIONAL

Center for Plant Conservation - Invasive Plant Species

Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health at the University of Georgia

Invasive and Noxious Weeds  from the PLANTS Database, Natural Resoucres conservation Service, USDA
View Federal and state noxious weed lists, an invasive plant list, or an introduced plant list, each with links to more information. Also links to the Invasive Species Executive Order 13112 and NRCS Invasive Species Policy

Invasive.org - Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health

Invasive Plants of the Eastern United States: Identification and Control
This web site covers identification characteristics, distribution, and control options for 97 tree, shrub, vine, grass, fern, forb, and aquatic plant species that are invading the eastern United States. For each species, a menu of control options is presented, including mechanical treatments, specific herbicide prescriptions, and, for selected species, recent advances in biological control.

Invasive Plant Atlas of the U.S.
The purpose of the Atlas is to assist users with identification, early detection, prevention, and management of invasive plants. The focus is on non-native invasive plant species impacting natural areas, excluding agricultural and other heavily developed and managed lands. Four main components are species information, images, distribution maps, and early detection reporting procedures. The Invasive Plant Atlas is one step in the effort to combat invasive species, preserve our natural landscapes and the native plants, animals, and other creatures that inhabit them.

Invasive Plant Responses to Silvicultural Practices in the South [Citation: Evans, C.W., D.J. Moorhead, C.T. Bargeron, and G.K. Douce. 2006. Invasive Plant Responses to Silvicultural Practices in the South. The University of Georgia Bugwood, Network, Tifton GA, BW-2006-03. 52 p.]

Maps of Occupation and Estimates of Acres Covered by Nonnative Invasive Plants in Southern Forests 
Maps of occupation and tabular coverage estimates are accessible for 33 recognized nonnative plants invading forests of the 13 southern States using U.S. Forest Service's Southern Research Station Forest Inventory and Analysis (SRS FIA) data posted as of March 15, 2008. Links and instructions are also provided for how you can access, view summary tables, and download the most current data for these species and 20 other nonnative plants invading Florida.  These maps and data are made available as tools to focus State, county, agency, and individual's invasive plant management programs and to gain greater support. Just as important, the web database can be used to determine the current occupation and model future spread, costs, and impacts to forest-human ecosystems by researchers and agencies.

National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC) - Laws and Regulations
Links and documents cover all organisms.

National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC): Gateway to invasive species information.
Covers Federal, State, local, and international sources.

Nature Conservancy - Global Invasive Species Team 
...is part of The Nature Conservancy's response to abating the damage caused to native biodiversity by the human-facilitated introduction of non-native, harmful invasive species. This web site provides many resources designed to help all conservationists deal most effectively with invasive species.

Nonnative Invasive Species in Souther Forst and Grassland Ecosystems 

Nonindigenous Aquatic Species (NAS)
Welcome to the Nonindigenous Aquatic Species (NAS) information resource for the United States Geological Survey. Located at the Center for Aquatic Resource Studies, this site has been established as a central repository for accurate and spatially referenced biogeographic accounts of nonindigenous aquatic species. The program provides scientific reports, online/realtime queries, spatial data sets, regional contact lists, and general information. The data is made available for use by biologists, interagency groups, and the general public. The geographical coverage is the United States.

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service - Invasive species
Invasive species are organisms that are introduced into a non-native ecosystem and which cause, or are likely to cause, harm to the economy, environment or human health.

Michigan State University