Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Locating Standards at the MSU Libraries: Standards Available Through MSU Libraries

Background

Because of the large number of standards available and the difficulty of determining which individual standards will be used, MSU does not maintain a comprehensive collection of standards. MSU regularly provides access to collections of standards from The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE),The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE). The MSU Libraries also purchases selected standards from other bodies such as the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)and The American Society of Heating,Refrigerating and Air-conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE).

Finding Standards Online

MSU users have online access to standards from the following organizations:

ASABE Technical Library

Online access to all American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers Technical Library (ASABE) journals, standards, meeting and conference papers, textbooks, and monographs beginning with 2001. ASABE's journals are refereed publications: Applied Engineering in Agriculture (vol.13/1997); Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health (vol.1/1995) ; Transactions of the ASABE (vol.40/1997); Biological Engineering (vol.1/2008)

       ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library

ASTM International is a voluntary standards development organization with members from over 120 nations. ASTM develops technical standards for materials, products, systems, tests and services. ASTM publishes over 12,000 standards in 15 sections. We have access to the current and some historical standards through the ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL).  This database also provides access to other ASTM publications including their Special Technical Publications (STPs) and the online versions of their journals. Older versions of the standards are may be available at the call number TA 401. A653.For further information about ASTM standards and help using them, contact the Engineering Librarian.

IEEE Standards

IEEE is a major developer of standards with almost 1,300 active standards. It works to develop industrial standards in a wide range of fields including power, energy, information technology, telecommunications, transportation, medicine, healthcare, nanotechnology, cybersecurity, information assurance, and green technology. IEEE also cooperates with other standards organizations. MSU owns or has access to most IEEE standards. Prior to 2004 IEEE standards were purchased and housed in the Engineering Library. Individual IEEE print standards can be located using our online catalog and can be checked out. The online full-text versions of the IEEE standards can be found using the IEEE Explore Database.

SAE Digital Library

The SAE Digital Library is a searchable database providing online access to the full text of the Society of Automotive Engineers Technical Papers from 1990 to the present , and also includes the SAE Ground Vehicle Standards.

Subject Guide

Tom Volkening's picture
Tom Volkening
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: 517-432-1498
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University