Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Chemistry Resources: Career Information

What can you do with a degree in chemistry? Discover the wide range of career options in the chemical sciences!

Career Resources

Chemistry Career Online Resources

Books in MSU Libraries

          Location: e-book

          Location: e-book

          Call Number: QD20 .G78 2010a  
          Location: Main Library Basement

Personal Profiles and Career Interests

Not sure which career is right for you? Personality tests, such as the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) and the Strong Interest Inventory can tell you which work environment is best suited for your personality. If you are an MSU student, you may take either of these tests free of charge in the Career Services and Placement Center

Job oppotunities

O*NET Online is a tool for career exploration and job analysis that has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, this portal provides occupation and industry information, salary data, self-assessment tools, and career exploration assistance. Fulfilling its promise to be a one-stop shop, CareerOneStop includes links to state job banks, the online version of Occupational Outlook Handbook, and other useful resources. Click the blue 'i' icon for more information about this resource.

Federal careers listed by college major. Provided by USAJOBS, the official career website of the U.S. Government.

Sponsored by the State of Michigan, this website provides job listings, job prospects by county, training resources, and the latest employment news.

Looking for scholarship or research funds?

Company Research

These resources provide comprehensive company information including company history, executives, financials, competitors and related industry information.

A comprehensive resource for finding information on millions of U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles worldwide. To access company information, choose the "Business" tab across the top of the page.

Contains company, industry and key executive profiles and provides, comprehensive access to business information including company overview, company history, officers and board members, competitors, products and operations, auditors, rankings, related industry information, and some historical annual financials.**To see the full report, click on "Link to Full Text" under Other Formats.**

**Access is allowed for only two users at a time.**

Provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies (~35,000 public companies and ~23 million private companies) , including SEC filings (US only) and current and historical annual reports for U.S. and International public companies. To search the ~23 million private companies, select D&B Private Company Database. Now includes Mergent Horizon and Mergent Bond Viewer.

Salary and Negotiation Information

Salary Information

          Call Number: HD6983 .A55
          Location: MSU Business Library

Salary Negotication

          Call Number: HD6054.3 .S265 2014 

          Location: MSU Business Library

          Location: E-book

    Location: E-book

Michigan State University