On the Libraries' Home Page, in the Quick Links box on the left side, click on Electronic Resources. In this part of our website are sections containing links to Indexes, Primary Sources, Data and Statistics, Media, E Books and E Journals, Research Guides, and more. One may also select each of these kinds of resources by subject discipline, or alphabetically by title, if known, using the boxes in the middle of the page. Click on the down arrow by the subject browse box to see the list of subjects. French literature e resources are under "Literature." History or Western European Studies subjects might also be useful.
We use indexes to obtain access to journal articles. Primary sources are materials which provide first-hand evidence of an event, a person's life, or a historical period. Primary sources in humanities and social sciences are like a scientist's raw laboratory data. They have not been edited or interpreted.
Here is a list of the most used electronic resources for French history and literature:
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Find out what dissertations have been done on topics, find bibliographic references, etc. MSU Libraries has copies of MSU dissertations only. Others must be borrowed on interlibrary loan or purchased, by users, from ProQuest (formerly UMI). Buying a non MSU dissertation found in this database is be possible within this website.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest interface)
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, bibliographies and other formats.
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Online (LION) contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference sources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of 120 current literature journals that can be accessed through the literary index, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), which contains over 880,000 records of literary criticism from 1920 to current.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A much used index for finding periodical articles on western world history topics since the Renaissance.
International Medieval Bibliography
An index to the European Middle Ages (c.500-1500 A.D.) covering periodicals, conference proceedings, essay collections, festschriften, and exhibition catalogs in Western European languages. Limiting search results to English language only items is possible. Searches may be conducted in English, French, or German. PLEASE click on “Logout” at top right of the work screen when finished searching.
Iter: Gateway to Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
The find text at MSU feature is enabled in this database. Look for the red button “check for full text” above the individual records in the database.
International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance
The International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR) is an annual bibliography providing references to books and articles in all areas of study on the 15th and 16th centuries in Europe - literature, philosophy, history, religion, the arts, economics, political science, law, and the sciences. It is published under the patronage of the International Federation of Societies and Institutes for the Study of the Renaissance. Online coverage from beginning of publication in 1965 to the present. Corresponds to the print set in Main stacks Z 6207 .R4 B5.
Formerly known as Bibliographie Internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance (BIHR).
Humanities Full Text
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. Disciplines covered: art, archaeology, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, world literature.
Free Access to Pascal (Science) and Francis (Humanities and Social Sciences)
Do simple and advanced searches, classification searches (subject scheme), on this now freely available database from the French Scientific Information Dept. of Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS). Francis is the database for social sciences and humanities materials. Indexes materials in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish from journals, conference proceedings, dissertations. Covers materials indexed in Francis from 1972-2015, 2 million items. Do your search. Then look up the journal name, conference, dissertation in our online catalog for access. If we don't have it, request ILL.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index (BGMI)
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Results of searches tell you which biographical dictionary will have a write up on the individual. Then you need to look up that source in our online catalog.
Books in Print (Global Edition)
Provides complete, publisher-verified information on all U.S. books in print as well as English-language books published in Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, and New Zealand. Global Books in Print covers scholarly, technical, popular, adult, juvenile, and reprint titles. It has also begun adding book reviews to recent entries.
This is an internet resource for finding "books in print information" for French published works. Click on the blue "Livres" button in the site to search the books part of the database.
WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings. It is produced by the OCLC Online Computer Library Center and describes books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings magazines, and videotapes. Scholars use it to obtain bibliographical details about books.
American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL)
Corpus consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Recently added is a Provençal database that includes 38 texts in their original spellings. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
See Archive 4 European Literature, 170-1840: the Corvey Collection
This database provides full-text, full-color newspapers from around the world -- over 300 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive.
WESSWEB: French Studies
A portal that provides links to excellent, academically oriented resources in French studies. Created and maintained by Western European studies librarians in North America.
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
Over six hundred journals from more than 240 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers are currently offered in Project Muse. Years available vary by journal. The subject searching in this resource uses Library of Congress' subject headings. This is the same subject heading scheme that we use in the MSU Libraries' online catalog.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Contains the books digitized by Google from the CIC/Big Ten university libraries, University of California system, many American East coast university libraries and others, Full texts with full text searchability for items published prior to 1923. Also contains a catalog of the works included. HT items are also present, individually, in the MSU LIbraries online catalog.