LibGuides: France: History and Literature: Indexes to Articles

Indexes to Articles

We use indexes to obtain access to journal articles and theses. Below is a list of indexes useful for finding scholarly journal articles in French history, language, and literature.

After identifying the article(s) you want in an index, there will either be links to the full-text(s) or you will need to look up the title of the periodical(s) in Books and Media to obtain the call number of the paper copy and/or look in E Books and Journals by the title of the periodical(s) to obtain the link to our online version.

To find dissertations/theses use ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global, link below in the indexes list. You will want to know whether anyone has done a thesis or dissertation on a topic related to yours and to study their bibliography. Sometimes we can borrow dissertations/theses on interlibrary loan. ProQuest also has a program whereby you can purchase a copy. Look for directions in their web site.

We have a special library research guide, Finding Dissertations and Theses that has a section on the lower left side about finding dissertations done at some universities in other countries.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The most often used index for finding literary articles/criticism, the Modern Language Association (MLA) produces this. The electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as from book publishers. There is a "Names as Subjects" link in the blue bar near the top, if you seek work about a particular literary author. The blue bar also has links to their Thesaurus, their dictionary of terms. And there is an Index you can search if you click on the down arrow at More in the top blue bar. You can limit your results, in Advanced Search, by items that will have linked full texts, to those items from peer reviewed journals, about particular chronological periods, published within the date range you choose, language, or genre of material.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Probably the most often used index for finding historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) about Europe.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
LLBA provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of monographs, recent books, technical reports, occasional papers, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for LLBA. 1973-present
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference sources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of 120 current literature journals that can be accessed through the literary index, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), which contains over 880,000 records of literary criticism from 1920 to current.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. Disciplines covered: art, archaeology, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, world literature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Over six hundred journals from more than 240 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers are currently offered in Project Muse. Muse is a unique collaboration between the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University. Years available vary by journal. Includes current issues.
Iter: Gateway to Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Iter Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of fulltext dissertations and theses since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for earlier periods. Includes MSU dissertations and theses.

Atelier National de Reproduction de Theses (ANRT)

The French Atelier National de Réproduction des Thèses (ANRT), the national reproduction centre for PhD theses, was a public body under the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research until 2017. The ANRT mandate was to archive French PhD theses and to disseminate them in the academic network of university libraries, It was attached as a service to the University of Lille III and located on the Lille III campus at Villeneuve-d'Ascq, in Northern France. In 2018, ANRT became a digitization unit of the academic library of the new University of Lille.

Cairn.Info Free Access Journals

Index to French journals in the humanities and social sciences. Some full-text available for free. CAIRN aggregates scholarly journal content for social science and humanities journals published in France and Belgium. Most of the content dates back only to 2001.

Free Access to Pascal and Francis

Free Access to Pascal (Science) and Francis (humanities and social sciences) site is an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases produced by the Inist-CNRS between 1972 and 2015 and previously accessible on a subscription basis. Over 14 million bibliographic references. From this landing page, click on the “A database” tab then on the “Pascal Francis” icon, top right column. You need to set up a personal user account.

Open Edition Catalogue.org

Searching, with full-text access to hundred's of open access journals in French, covering the humanities and social sciences. On this page are links for searching for free e-books and free e-journals. With directions for use.

Persee

Persee is a digital library of open access, mostly French-language scholarly journals, established by the Ministry of National Education of France in 2005. It is maintained by the Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon, French National Centre for Scientific Research, and University of Lyon. It is one of the largest Francophone portals dedicated to human and social sciences, offering c. 600,000 freely available documents.

Systeme Universitaire de Documentation (Sudoc)

This is a shared database used by the libraries of universities and other higher education institutions in France. It identifies, tracks and manages the documents which they hold. The SUDOC online catalog has more than 10 million references. It allows students and researchers to find bibliographical and location information in over 3,400 document centers. It is maintained by the Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur (Bibliographic Agency for Higher Education). It includes theses in history back to about 1972.

Theses.fr

Contains theses defended in France from 1985 to present and theses in progress.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

France: History and Literature: Indexes to Articles

Indexes to Articles