Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Religious History: Finding Periodical Articles: The Next Step

Last updated: 09-12-2007

The Next Step

After identifying one or more items in one of the online indexes in this guide, the next step is virtually or physically tracking down the actual item in the indexed journal or book in our collection. 

A few of the indexes in this guide have the "Find Text at M.S.U."  feature enabled.  Humanities Abstracts, America: History and Life, and Historical Abstracts do. A portion of the items indexed in ATLA/ATLAS have links in the index to online versions of the full texts of the articles, too.  For these, it is easy, more or less.  Just click on the Find Text at M.S.U. link to be taken to the journal when you are in your lists of search results.  If this does not work, or is unclear, look up your desired item in our online catalog.

To find the articles located in searches of ATLA/ATLAS in which the full text is not linked and those in International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliography of British and Irish History, Irish History Online, Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, New Testament Abstracts, Old Testament Abstracts, Index to Jewish Periodicals, Review of Biblical Literature, and other indexes mentioned in this guide, researchers must write down or print out the complete citations from the index used including the author, title of the article desired, name of the journal it is in, and volume, pages, and date of issue of the journal. Then, look up the call number and library location for the journal name in the M.S.U. Libraries’ online catalog. Ask for help at the Reference Desk or online via the Ask a Librarian feature, if necessary.

Michigan State University