Skip to main content
Michigan State University

History of the Family Around the World: Indexes to Periodical Articles

Indexes to Periodical Articles

We use periodical indexes in history research because it is in the articles in scholarly journals that the most recently written thoughts on most topics are published. Journals also contain book reviews, alerting the readers to the existence of new books which can be searched for in our online catalog. The list of indexes below is not exhaustive although we have taken care to provide at least one index covering each area of the world and time period of history.


The first four indexes listed include the two databases most used for articles by M.S.U. history students, then the most used index for gender studies, and last, one of the most used interdisciplinary databases, ProQuest. After these four the list covers indexes useful for history of particular areas or countries of the world and, at the end, indexes useful for particular time periods of history.


Some of the indexes offer a link to library holdings and the full-text of the journal article will be available online. Other indexes do not have this feature. In that case, look up the title of the periodical in the online catalog, find the call number, and look for it in the stacks.

 

Irish History Online

IRO covers what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present, published since the 1930s, with selected material published in earlier decades. It currently contains over 90,000 bibliographic records (July 2015). IRO includes bibliographic information on books and pamphlets, articles from journals published in Ireland or internationally, and chapters from books of essays, including Festschriften and conference proceedings.

Bibliographie Annuelle de l'Histoire de France... Main Library stacks Z2176 .B5

Annual volumes cover all topics in French history from the 15th c. to 1958. Published in France. Much of the indexed material will be in French. Use the table of contents pages to find the period and type of history you seek and then scan the references in the chapters. Unannotated. Covers both book and article material. In the annual volume, turn to the table of contents page(s) for "Histoire Sociale." Under this section there are chapters containing references on family, women, children, daily life, affairs of the heart, workers, etc.

Internationale Bibliographie der Geistes-und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriftenliteratur : IBZ Reference AI 9 .I5 1996-2004; Main 1984-1995; Remote Storage 1971-1983

Multilingual database, indexing over 5600 periodicals, including a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent, 1983 to the present. Suggest this for history of the family in Germany. It indexes many European periodicals and is said to be especially good for France as well. In 1964 IBZ merged with and continued two other publications: Bibliographie der Deutschen Zeitschriftenliteratur Main AI 9 .B51 and Bibliographie der Fremdsprachigen Zeitschriftenliteratur.Remote Storage AI 9 .B7

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers articles from some 400 journals, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages (450 -1500 A.D.) in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East. Materials on Russia extend to 1613. Publications may be in English, French, German, Spanish, or Italian. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included. Books by single authors are excluded.(check the online catalog). This index began in 1996. It covers materials published from 1994 on (in Italian only since spring, 2001).

Michigan State University