Skip to main content
Michigan State University

International Governmental Organizations (IGOs): Guide by Organization: World Health Organization

Last updated: 08-13-2008

World Health Organization

World Health Organization

The WHO has links to a number of free electronic publications on health and nutrition on its website.

WHOLIS, the World Health Organization Library Information System, is a database of citations to WHO publications, articles, technical and policy documents, and joint publications with other publishers and international organizations. WHOLIS indexes all WHO publications from 1948 onwards and articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents from 1985. It also provides links to full text that is available online.

Publications Catalogue: New Books. (Main Library Reference Z6660 .W552; also online)

Basic Documents (Main RA8 .A17; also online)
Contains the Constitution of the WHO, Convention on the Privileges and Immunities of the Specialized Agencies, agreements with other IGOs, Financial and Staff Regulations, Regulations for Expert Advisory Panels and Committees and for Study and Scientific Groups, and the Rules of Procedure of the World Health Assembly and the Executive Board.

Selected Executive Board documents and World Health Assembly documents are available at the WHO website.

Official Records of the World Health Organization. (Main RA8 .A2 1947-1981)

Handbook of Resolutions and Decisions of the World Health Assembly and the Executive Board. (Main RA8 .A175) Searchable full text online back to 1948.

Work of WHO: Annual Report of the Director-General to the World Health Assembly and to the United Nations (Main RA8 .A23 1976-1993)

World Health Report: Report of the Director-General. (Main RA8 .W66 1995-present; also available online back to 1995.)

Michigan State University