How do I search for articles on my research topic?
To search for articles on a particular topic, you must search a
periodical index. A periodical index allows you to search the contents
of magazines, journals, and newspapers. For more details and
step-by-step instructions, see Finding Periodical Articles in the MSU Libraries.
Need
help choosing keywords and searching indexes? Try: Database/Index
FAQs and Searching Tips
- LION (Literature Online)
Contemporary criticism is available through the indexes of MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB), and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
(ABELL)-- togoether combining for millions of records of literary
criticism and its related studies from 1920 to current. LION
(Literature Online) contains a full library of up-to-date, fully
searchable criticism and reference sources in addition to the full text
of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the
present day.
- America History and Life
America History and Life provides access to the citations of
contemporary articles (and in some cases, the full text of articles),
book reviews, and dissertations in American and Canadian history.
- ATLA Religion Database
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA
Religion Database indexes periodical articles and book material in
biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious
perspectives on social issues.
- Proquest
Current, general periodicals index, includes much full text.
Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) contains more than 1 million
citations to articles in more than 3,000 journals from 1770-1995. These
journals represent popular and scholarly titles in the humanities and
social sciences. 1,000,000 citations are added annually.
