Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Folklore Resources: Selected Primary Resources in English and American Literature and History

Last updated: 01-26-2009

Selected Primary Resources in English and American Literature and History

  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

    Contains digital versions of 150,000 works published or printed from 1701-1800 in England, and other English-speaking places around the world (including the rest of the British Isles, the American colonies, and the early United States). Look here to find full texts of primary source materials in history, geography, literature, language, religion, philosophy, social science, fine arts, music, architecture, medicine, science, technology, and law, as well as general reference works from the 18th century. MSU owns some of the microfilm set from which the database has been made, called The Eighteenth Century (call number 14735).

  • Early English Books Online (EEBO)

    EEBO, Early English Books Online, provides digital access to the citations, texts, and illustrations of 106,639 works listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640, (Consulting Ref. Z 2002 .A27 and 1976), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America, and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700, (Consulting Ref. Z 2002 .W52 and 1972 and 1994) and the Thomason Tracts, (Consulting Ref. Z 2018 .T49 1977), a compendium of broadsides on the English Civil War, 1640-1660. M.S.U. Libraries owns microfilm of this material in these microfilm sets: STC I, STC II, and 14458, respectively, in Microforms/PRR. Search by author, title, keywords, subject, imprint, date, type of illustration, film reel ID number,STC number, source library, language, or combinations. Browse indexes. EEBO TCP (Text Creation Partnership) titles, nearly 5000 in spring, 2004 are also searchable here. These texts are keyed full text so you may search for words within these texts, either alone, or in combination with the other EEBO search elements. Read the directions on the search screens carefully.

  • C19: The Nineteenth Century

    C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is a gateway, or portal, into a variety of primary sources for 19th Century studies, and includes an index of all English language printing in the 19th Century via the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog. Each resource or database in C19 may also be accessed/searched individually.
  • Periodicals Archive Online

    Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

    It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.

  • ARTstor

    ARTstor is a digital image database containing approximately 400,000 images that are keyword searchable. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.
Michigan State University