Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Witchcraft in Early Modern England: Guides to the Literature and Book Length Bibliographies

Last updated: 09-02-2009

Guides to the Literature and Book Length Bibliographies

Guides to the literature and book length bibliographies are types of reference works that discuss how to do research and recommend titles to read. They are only as up-to-date as the year they were published; use periodical indexes and the online catalog to supplement the suggestions of sources you find in older bibliographies.

American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature, Ref. and Main D 20 .A55 1995 v. 1-2. Chronological approach with sub-sections on geographic areas. Short annotations. Points primarily to book length material, not periodical articles. Information on reference sources is limited. Emphasis is on good books in the field to read. See the index in volume 2 under witch hunts, witch trials, witchcraft, magic, Salem. References in the index are to the section (chapter) and entry number within the chapter.

Reformation and Early Modern Europe, a Guide to Research, Main BR 305.3 .R42 2008 Bibliographic essays by many scholars. Three parts: Confessional trends (Lutheran, Reformed, Catholic, Radical, Jewish), regional trends (Central Europe, France, Italy, England, The Netherlands, Spain, Swiss), and social/cultural trends (popular religion, witchcraft, society and sexes, art history, books and printing).

Crosby, Medieval Studies, a Bibliographical Guide, Fine Arts Z 5579.5 .C76 1983. General bibliography on the period. Both topical chapters and chapters on the period in different countries. Points to other bibliographies, general works, collections of sources, in many disciplines, not only just history.

Caenegem, Guide to the Sources of Medieval History, Main D 117 .C2213. Points to traditional primary, medieval sources from church records, legal records, charters and administrative records, governmental records, fiscal and socio-economic records. Info on libraries and archives and their holdings, as of the late 1970s. Great collections and repertories of sources. Reference works.

Bibliography of English History to 1485, Main Z 2017 .B5

Bibliography of British History, Tudor Period, 1485-1603, Main Z 2018 .R28 1959 c. 2

Bibliography of British History, Stuart Period, 1603-1714, Main Z 2018 .D25 1970.

Medieval Women and the Sources of Medieval History, Main HQ 1143 .M44 1990. Bibliographic essay format, with chapters by specialists on some very specialized and not so specialized topics, including one on English medieval women and legal history.

Women in Western European History, a Select Chronological, Geographical and Topical Bibliography from Antiquity to the French Revolution, Main HQ 1587 .F7 1982b, v.1 c. 2 and 1986 Supp.

Women of England from Anglo-Saxon Times to the Present, Interpretive Bibliographic Essays, Main HQ 1599 .E5 W65 c. 2

Index to Women's Studies Anthologies, Research Across the Disciplines, 1980-84 and 1985-89, Main HQ 1180 .B76 1994 and 1996. Author, editor, subject and keyword indexes to anthologies in women's studies, works that have chapters by various individuals.

Witchcraft, Catalogue of the Witchcraft Collection in Cornell University Library, Oversize basement center Z 6878 .W8 C67 1977. Items in this collection are part of the microform set Witchcraft in Europe and America, film set 18785.

Magic, Witchcraft and Paganism in America, a Bibliography, Main BF 1622 .U6 M44 1992. Has a chapter on the incident at Salem, pp. 157-162.

Short-Title Catalogue of Works on Psychical Research, Spiritualism, Magic, Psychology, Legerdemain and Other Methods of Deception, Charlatanism, Witchcraft, and Technical Works for the Scientific Investigation of Alleged Abnormal Phenomena from Circa 1450 to 1929, Main Z 6880 .L84. Dated. Arrangement is by main entry. Look, though, under witchcraft, where you will find a list of authors to refer to in the volume.

History Highway, 21st Century Guide to Internet Resources, Reference and DMC (Digital and Multimedia Center 4th floor west on CD ROM) D16.117 .H55 2006. Recommendations of worthy web sites in history.

Michigan State University