Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Medieval West - Additional Web Resources: Images

Last updated: 12-17-2009

Images

Canterbury and St. Albans: Treasures from Church and Cloister

Exhibition from the Getty Foundation brings together two rare masterpieces of Medieval English art: stained glass from Canterbury Cathedral and illuminations from the St. Albans Psalter. First-time visitors can watch a short preview of the in situ exhibit and then move on to detailed online exhibition galleries. The Behind the Scenes area offers first-hand commentary from manuscripts curator, Kristen Collins, and her time studying the St. Albans Psalter. The Cult and Place section offers up commentary on the major figures associated with these two artistic marvels, Saint Thomas Becket and Christina of Markyate, a holy woman associated with the Abbey Church of St. Alban.

Index of Christian Art

Largest database of medieval art. Full-text records for over 23,000 works of art from early apostolic times to 1400. Works classified by details of subject iconography, as well as artist’s name, title of work, and medium. Some color images online. Other images may be found in publications in the bibliographic references accompanying the entries. Bibliography has 18,000 references covering iconography, art history, archaeology, religion, and classical studies. For other works in book form on medieval iconography, use the subject heading Christian art and symbolism–dictionaries, in our online catalog.

Yale Divinity Digital Image and Text Library

The Digital Library contains two discrete subsets that can be browsed or searched separately: AdHoc: Image and Text Database on the History of Christianity and EIKON: Image Database for Biblical Studies. Use the former to find material on the history of Christianity and the latter to find material on the Bible. Please note that some images in the Digital Library are restricted to Yale use, due to copyright agreements.

Tres Riches Heures du Duc de Berry

Online images of and background text to this famous 15th c. book of hours.

NYPL Picture Collection Online

30,000 digitized images from New York Public Library’s collections. Searchable by keyword; browsable in a variety of indexes. Useful, for instance, to find illustrations of medieval clothing.

Images from the History of Medicine

Access to nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine. Offers both keyword and browse searching.

Google Advanced Image Search  Find all kinds of medieval, and other, images, here. 

Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations

The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds. DARMC allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization.

Mapping Gothic France

France and Great Britain are home to a number of striking examples of gothic architecture built in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, including cathedrals and castles. On this website, created by Columbia University art historian and archeology scholar Stephen Murray and Vassar College art professor Andrew Tallon, visitors can explore photographs of these structures and learn more about the history of this architecture. On The Main Map, visitors can explore annotated photographs of structures by geographic pin. Many of these pins included multiple photographs, allowing visitors to examine the exterior and interior of structures in great deal from their own computer. The majority of structures are located in modern France, but this collection also includes a large number of buildings in the United Kingdom. Another way to experience the site is via The Historical Maps and Timeline section, which features an animated map outlining the intersections between the history of France and the construction of these buildings. Meanwhile, visitors with a passion for architecture will enjoy the Comparison feature, which allows visitors to layer a variety of exterior and interior architectural features on different structures. A work in progress, the Stories and Essays section provides more information about Gothic architecture as well as the history of France.

Medieval and Renaissance Illuminated Manuscripts from Western Europe

Over 2,000 manuscript pages from collection of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts at New York Public Library, dating from 9th to 16th centuries. Collection contents link has an alphabetical list of inclusions. Click on related subjects to look for complementary materials within NYPL's digital collections.

National Gallery (U.K.) Picture Library

Digital images of works from their collection available for free for all scholarly publications, provided specific criteria are met.  Discounts available for images used in student theses, academic presentations or lectures, or noncommercial private use.

Robbins Library Digital Projects

From University of Rochester.  Several projects.  Camelot Project is a collection of Arthurian texts, images, interviews, and basic info.  TEAMS Middle English Texts has online full text Middle English works with glosses and notes.  The Robin Hood Project is a collection of texts, images, and information on the Robin Hood tradition.  The Crusades Project is materials on the crusades in English literature.  The Cinderella Bibliography is an extensive bibliography of Cinderella and Beauty and the Beast texts, films, music, objects, and criticism.  Visualizing Chaucer documents through a bibliography and numerous images the history of illustration of Chaucer's works.

Royal College of Physicians Museum and Archive Collections

Search RCP collections to uncover a wealth of information on the history of medicine and the RCP.   Near complete records of the RCP's activities for 500 years. Manuscripts and personal papers of eminent physicians. 300 oil and sculptural portraits of physicians and over 5,000 prints and drawing. Silver and decorative art collection. Rare medical instruments and artefacts.

Welcome Library Images

Over 100,000 high resolution images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements are now freely available from the Welcome Institute for the History of Medicine.The images range from ancient medical manuscripts to etchings by artists. The earliest item is an Egyptian prescription on papyrus, and treasures include exquisite medieval illuminated manuscripts and anatomical drawings.

Victoria and Albert Museum Images

V and A offers publishers of academic books and scholarly articles over 25,000 images from its website.

 

Michigan State University