Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Medieval West - Additional Web Resources: Science

This is a guide to free web sites about the Medieval West: general and history, images, law, literature, science, women, philosophy, religion, scholarly organnizations, scholarly discussion lists.

Science

An alphabetical list.

Aestimatio: Critical Reviews in the History of Science

A journal providing critical, timely assessments of books published in the history of what was called science from antiquity up to the early modern period in cultures ranging from Spain to India, and from Africa to northern Europe.

Art and Science of Healing

The Kelsey Museum of Archeology and the University of Michigan Library recently put together this website that traces the history of medicine in Europe and the Middle East, from Ancient Greece and Rome through the Renaissance. The exhibit is divided into five sections: Religion and Magic, Graeco-Roman Medicine, Islamic Medicine, Medieval Medicine, and Renaissance Medicine. In each of these five sections, visitors can browse multiple topics to view interesting artifacts and manuscripts related to these topics.

Digitised Diseases is an open access resource featuring human bones which have been digitised using 3D laser scanning, CT and radiography. The resource focuses on a wide range of pathological type specimens from archaeological and historical medical collections, specifically examples of chronic diseases which affect the human skeleton for which many of the physical changes are often not directly observable within clinical practice. Of major interest to many will be high fidelity photo-realistic digital representations of 3D bones that can be viewed, downloaded and manipulated on their computer, tablet or smartphone.

Harley Science Project

From the British Library Digitized Manuscripts. The project will supply complete coverage of selected items from the Harley collection, augmented by revised catalogue records for the books in question. Medieval and early modern manuscripts are vital for transmitting ancient scientific thought to the modern world. The Harley collection is particularly rich in such material. One of the foundation collections of the British Library, it contains more than 7,000 manuscripts and 14,000 charters, collected by Robert Harley, 1st Earl of Oxford and Mortimer (d. 1724), and his son Edward Harley (d. 1741).  The manuscripts selected range in date from the 9th century to the 17th century, and are written in a variety of western European languages (including Latin, Old and Middle English, Dutch, French, German, Irish, Italian and Spanish). They embrace many aspects of early scientific knowledge, such as astronomy, the computus, mathematics, medicine and veterinary science.

Interactive Historical Atlas of the Disciplines

Aims at collecting and mapping data related to the history of the disciplinary structure of science. Launched in 2018 at the University of Geneva, this collaborative website provides several tools to explore the various 'classifications of the sciences' put forward by numerous scholars over the centuries, and to visualize the evolution of disciplinary borders from Antiquity to our days.
The ultimate goal of this project is to reconstruct the genealogical tree of the sciences, namely, the "table of contents" of the history of human knowledge. As such, the present atlas should be of interest not only to historians, but also to philosophers, sociologists and anyone interested in the history of their discipline and its relations to others sciences.

IMMI: The Index of Medieval Medical Images in North America  IMMI, The Index of Medieval Medical Images, project began in 1988 aiming to describe and index the content of all medieval manuscript images (up to the year 1500) with medical components held in North American libraries. A pilot project done in 2001 digitized 509 images from 113 manuscripts owned by six institutions (University of California, Los Angeles, Special Collections and Darling Biomedical Library, Rosenbach Museum and Library, National Library of Medicine, University of Vermont Special Collections, and Yale University, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library).

Images from the History of Medicine,  Access to nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine. Offers both keyword and browse searching.

IsisCB Cumulative: Open Access Bibliography for the History of Science, 1913-1975

This is a digitized version of the Isis Cumulative Bibliography of the History of Science, covering materials indexed from 1913-1975, on all topics in the history of science for all historical periods.   There are seven large HTML files corresponding to the seven volumes of the printed bibliography issued during this period.  It is a companion to IsisCB Explore, covering the files 1974 to present (next entry, below).  Over 154,000 citations to 83,000 articles, 44,000 books, 20,000 reviews, 6,000 chapters.  Made possible by Sloan Foundation, History of Science Society, University of Oklahoma Libraries, University of Oklahoma History of Science dept. 

IsisCB Explore History of Science Index

IsisCB Explore is a research tool for the history of science, whose core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science. The IsisCB currently contains 40 years of citation data from 1974 to 2014. The dataset is composed of two main types of records:1) Citations, items from the bibliography that have been classified and indexed, and 2) Authorities, records that include both subject terms that classify citations as well as authors, publishers, and journals that have written and published those works.  It blends a professionally curated database with social media tools, so that the community can play a more active role in building a tool that will cater to its needs.

Malaga Corpus of Late Middle English Scientific Prose

This website holds a repository of Middle English manuscripts dealing with Medicine, Botany and Pharmacopoeia, among others. The manuscripts belong to the Hunter Collection housed at Glasgow University Library (G.U.L.).

Medieval Science Page,   Intended to provide a convenient and comprehensive set of links to worldwide internet resources on medieval science in Western and other cultures. Provides links to: other web sites, to full texts of primary sources, to museum information and exhibits online, and to societies, conferences, and e-mail lists. Topical approach. Sample topics: alchemy, animals, botany, cartography, horology, instruments, mathematics, medicine, physics, technology, time, weights and measures, Renaissance materials.

Plague and Public Health in Renaissance Europe, Narratives, medical concilia, government records, religious and spiritual writings, and images documenting epidemic disease in Western Europe from 1348-16th c. From University of Virginia.

Royal College of Physicians Museum and Archive Collections

Search RCP collections to uncover a wealth of information on the history of medicine and the RCP.   Near complete records of the RCP's activities for 500 years. Manuscripts and personal papers of eminent physicians. 300 oil and sculptural portraits of physicians and over 5,000 prints and drawing. Silver and decorative art collection. Rare medical instruments and artefacts.

Wellcome Library

Through its collections and services, the Wellcome Library in London provides insight and information to anyone seeking to understand medicine and its role in society, past and present. With over 600 000 books and journals, an extensive range of manuscripts, archives and films, and more than 100 000 pictures, we are one of the world's major resources for the study of medical history. This is onne of the world's greatest collections of books, manuscripts, archives, films and paintings on the history of medicine from the earliest times to the present day.  See especially Welcome Images.

Michigan State University