Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Medieval West - Additional Web Resources: Women

This is a guide to free web sites about the Medieval West: general and history, images, law, literature, science, women, philosophy, religion, scholarly organnizations, scholarly discussion lists.

Women

Alphabetical list.

Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters

From Columbia University. A collection of medieval Latin letters to and from women.  The letters collected here date from the 4th to the 13th centuries, and they are presented in their original Latin as well as in English translation.  The letters are organized by the name and biography of the women writers or recipients.  Biographical sketches of the women, descriptions of the subject matter of the letters, and the historical context of the correspondence are included where available.  Browse and search both letters and biographies.  Also offers resources, other things to read, geared to Columbia University Libraries, but you could look for them in our library also.

Margery Kempe Online

Digital facsimile of The Book of Margery Kempe alongside a modern transcription in facing page format.  Facsimile and transcription of de Worde's printed edition.  Comprehensive bibliography.  By Joel Fredell, Southeast Louisiana University.

Monastic Matrix, a Scholarly Resource for the Study of Women's Religious Communities from 400-1600 CE

From Ohio State University.  Collaborative effort by an international group of scholars of medieval history, religion, history of art, archaeology, religion, and other disciplines, as well as librarians and experts in computer technology. Goal is to document the participation of Christian women in the religion and society of medieval Europe. In particular, we aim to collect and make available all existing data about Christian religious women in Europe between 400 and 1600 C.E. Draws on both textual and material sources, primary and secondary, although its basis is unpublished archival evidence. Six components: The Monasticon, a repertory of community profiles of every kind; Vitae, entries on individual men and women important to women's religious history and associated with the communities; a Cartularium of primary source documents; an archive of articles, the Commentaria; a visual library, the Figurae; a Bibliographia of published and unpublished bibliographies and names; and a Vocabularium explaining the vocabulary of women's religious communities.

Robbins Library Digital Projects

From University of Rochester.  Projects: Camelot.  Teams Middle English Texts. Robin Hood.  Crusades. Cinderella Bibliography.  Visualizing Chaucer.  Overall search by keyword.  Also search within each project.  Names of women and topics of interest to them can be entered.

ViVa Women's History

From International Institute of Social History of the Royal Netherlands Academic of Arts and Sciences.  Current bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals. Contains articles in English, French, German, Dutch, Scandinavian languages, and, occasionally Spanish selected from 180 European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals. Over 12,000 records describing articles from 1975 onwards. Search topics.  Browse by year.

Women in Medieval Society

Library research guide, also from M.S.U., the page on free web sites.  Possibly some additional useful sites.

 

Michigan State University