Short of scanning individual issues of current, scholarly journals, periodical indexes and annual bibliographies provide access to the most recently written and indexed materials on topics.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Bibliography of British and Irish History is the major index to secondary articles about British, Scottish, Welsh, Northern Irish, and Irish history. It also indexes primary sources. It is made available online by Brepolis, the online division of the Brepols publishing company, but is produced in partnership with the University of London, Institute of Historical Research and the Royal Historical Society. Originally, this was a print resource called Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History (catalog call no. Z 2016 .A55, located in the Library Remote Storage D), published 1975-2003. BBIH covers books, articles in collective volumes (including conference proceedings and festschriften)and journal articles. Primary source material is indexed as well as much secondary material.
PLEASE click on “Logout” at top right of the work screen when finished searching.
Irish History Online
Irish History Online is an authoritative guide (in progress) to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It currently contains approximately 72,000 bibliographic records (January 2011). Material on Northern Ireland is included. IHO was established as an online database in 2003 with funding from the Irish Research Council for the Humanities and Social Sciences and was developed in association with the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History. Since 2010 IHO has been published separately from the Royal Historical Society bibliography. It is now hosted by the Royal Irish Academy (Dublin). It includes bibliographic information on books and pamphlets, articles from journals published in Ireland or internationally, and chapters from books of essays, including Festschriften and conference proceedings. Searches can be made by author/editor, by title or keyword from title, by subject, by journal title or series, or by publication details. Irish History Online is an essential resource for the study of Irish history at any level, and is free of charge to users, at this time.
BIAB Online: British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography
Provides information about articles and books on the archaeology of Britain and Ireland. This resource includes the contents of British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography,1997-, British Archaeological Abstracts 1968-91 (Main DA 90 .B8), Archaeological Bibliography for Great Britain and Ireland, Reports of the Committee on Ancient Earthworks and Fortified Enclosures, a Guide to the Historical and Archaeological Publications of Societies in England and Wales, 1901-33 (Mullins, Main Z 2016 .M83), Index of Archaeological Papers, 1665-1890 (Gomme family, Main Z 2016 .I65.)
Humanities Full Text
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. Disciplines covered: world history, religion, world literature, archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy. Formerly a print index, Humanities Index, Main AI 3 .H8.
Social Sciences Full Text
Coverage: 1983-present. Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. It indexes some social and economic history articles. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Formerly a print index called Social Science Index Main AI 3 .S6.
International Medieval Bibliography
An index to the European Middle Ages (c.500-1500 A.D.) covering periodicals, conference proceedings, essay collections, festschriften, and exhibition catalogs in Western European languages. Limiting search results to English language only items is possible. Searches may be conducted in English, French, or German. PLEASE click on “Logout” at top right of the work screen when finished searching.
Originally a full-text endeavor designed to provide access to older scholarly periodical literature, from the beginning of a journal to within several years of the present; it is now beginning to offer current issues also. Offers searching by topic, author, etc. as well as the capacity to browse through full-text back files of journals in history and many other disciplines. In the search mode it is best to use advanced search, which requires selecting a discipline in which the search is to be performed along with the key words you choose. It will search the full-text of the article, words in the title of the article, or words in the abstract (summary) of the article, as you choose. You can specify proximity of the search words. Includes the full-texts of the entire back run of Speculum, a key journal in medieval studies.
Over six hundred journals from more than 240 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers are currently offered in Project Muse. Search by author, by Library of Congress subject headings (the subject headings we use in our online catalog), or key words. You can also browse the contents of particular journals. Years available vary by journal; recent years, since 2003, emphasized.
British Humanities Index
Main AI 3 .B7
Not available in our Library online and no longer a current subscription. Does index the contents of some of the British local historical, archaeological, archival, and record societies' publications. These are also covered by Bibliography of British and Irish History, above.