Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Catalogs of English Medieval Manuscripts in the M.S.U. Libraries: Catalogs of Collections in Institutions

Last updated: 11-20-2006

British Museum/British Library

British Library Click on "manuscript catalogues" or "The collections"

The British Library, a Guide to the Catalogues and Indexes of the Department of Maunuscripts. 1982.
Z6621 .B843 1998 Main

Catalogue of Additions to the Manuscripts, 1756-1782, Additional Manuscripts 4101-5107. 1977.
Z6621 .B842 1756-1782 Main

Catalogue of Additions to the Manuscripts, 1783-1950.
Z 6621 .B842 Main

Catalogue of Additions to the Manuscripts, 1951-1955..., 1982.
Z6621 .B842 1951-1955 Main

Catalogue of Dated and Datable Manuscripts c. 700-1600 in the Department of Manuscripts. 1979.
Z 921 f.B855 A312 1979 v. 1-2 Oversize Books, Basement

Catalogue of Irish Manuscripts in the British Museum. 1926-
PB 1351 .B7 v. 1-3 Main
PB 1351 .b7 1992 v.1 Main

Catalogue of Manuscripts in the British Museum, New Series v. 1, 1834-[41].
Z 6621 .B84 1834 pts. 1-3 Remote Storage, Oversize

Catalogue of Romances in the Department of Manuscripts in the British Museum, 1883-1910.
Z 1012 f.B87 R7 v. 1-3 Main

Catalogue of the 50 Manuscripts and Printed Books Bequethed to the British Museum by Alfred H. Huth.
Z 1012 .B87 Remote Storage, Oversize

Catalogue of the Harleian Manuscripts in the British Museum. 1808-1812.
Z 6621 .B85 H3 1808 v. 1-4 Special Collections, Rare Books folio

Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Cottonian Library Deposited in the British Museum. 1802. (also have 1984 ed.)
Z 6621 .B85 C8 Folio, Special Collections, Rare Books
Z 6621 .B85 C8 1984 Oversize Books, Basement

Catalogue of the Manuscripts Relating to Wales in the British Museum. 1900-22.
Z 6621 .B86 W3 v. 1-4 Main

Catalogue of the Stowe Manuscripts in the British Museum. 1895-96.
Z 6621 .B85 A8 v. 1-2 Main.

Guide to the Manuscripts, Autographs, Charters, Seals, Illuminations, and Bindings Exhibited in the Department of Manuscripts and in the Grenville Library. 1906.
Z 792 .B86 M3 1906 Main

Index of Manuscripts in the British Library. 1984-85.
Z 921 .L553 B74 1984 v.1-8, 10 Main

Index of the Additional Manuscripts, with Those of the Egerton Collection, Preserved in the Bristish Museum and Acquired 1783-1815. Z 6621 .B842 Index Main

Index to the Sloane Manuscripts in the British Museum. 1971.
Z6621 .B85 S6 1971 Main

[List and Index Society Publications of Manuscripts Acquired and Register of Microfilms and Other Photocopies in the Department of Manuscripts]
CD 1042 .A2 L56 Main
v. 7 manuscripts acquired 1961-65
v. 8 manuscripts acquired 1966-70
v. 9 register of microfilms and other photocopies
v. 10 manuscripts acquired 1971-75
v. 15 manuscripts acquired 1976-80
v. 22 Huntington Library, Hastings Manuscripts

Religious Institutions

James, Montague Rhodes. Ancient Libraries of Canterbury and Dover, the Catalogues of the Libraries of Christ Church Priority St. Augustine's Abbey at Canterbury and of St. Martin's Priory at Dover. 1903
Z 723 .J15 Main

James, Montague Rhodes. Lists of Manuscripts Formerly in Peterborough Abbey Library. 1926.
Z 1008 B53 no. 5 Main

Lambeth Palace Library

Lambeth Palace Library. Catalogue of the Manuscripts in Lambeth Palace Library, Manuscripts 1222-1860... 1972.
Z 6621 .L82 B55 Main

Lambeth Palace Library. A Catalogue of the Manuscripts in Lambeth Palace Library, Manuscripts 1907-2340. 1976.
Z 6621 .L82 B55 1976 Main

Lambeth Palace Library. A Catalogue of the Manuscripts in Lambeth Palace Library, Manuscripts 2341-3119... 1983.
Z 6621 .L8195 1983 Main

Lambeth Palace Library. A Catalogue of the Manuscripts in Lambeth Palace... 1930-32.
Z6621 .L82 J3 Main

Lincoln Cathedral Library. Catalogue of the Manuscripts of Lincoln Cathedral Chapter Library. 1927
Z 6621 .L85 Main
Z 6621 .L85 1989 Main

Syon Abbey. Catalogue of the Syon Monastery, Isleworth. 1898.
Z 6621 .S99 Main

Todd, Henry John. Catalogue of the Archepiscopal Manuscripts in the Library at Lambeth Palace. 1812.
Z 6621 .L82 T6 Remote Storage, Oversize

Westminster Abbey Library. The Manuscripts of Westminster Abbey. 1909.
Z 6621 .W42 Main

Westminster, England. A Catalogue of Westminster Records Deposited at the Town Hall, Caxton Street, in the Custody of the Vestry of St. Margaret and St. John...1900.
DA 685 .W5 W5 Remote Storage B

Worcester Cathedral Library. Catalogue of the Manuscripts Preserved in the Chapter Library of Worcester Cathedral. 1906.
DA 670 .W9 A2 W626 Main oversize

Worcester Cathedral Library. Descriptive Catalogue of the Medieval Manuscripts in Worcester Cathedral Library. 2001
DA 690 .W9 W673 2001 Main

University of Aberdeen

A Catalogue of the Medieval Manuscripts in the University Library, Aberdeen. 1932.
Z 6621 .A13 Main

Cambridge University

Catalogue of Dated and Datable Manuscripts c737-1600 in Cambridge Libraries. 1988
Z 921 .A13 C55 R66 1988 v. 1-2 Main

A Catalogue of the Manuscripts Preserved in the Library of the University Cambridge. 1980 (reprint of 1856-67 ed).
Z 6621 .C17 1980 v.1-6 Main

University of Cambridge Newton Library Catalogue.

Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the College Library of Magdelene College. 1909.
Z 6621 .C18 M2 Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Fitzwilliam Museum. 1895.
Z 6621 .C18 F56 Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of Corpus Christi College. 1912.
Z 6621 .C18 C8 v.1-2 Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of Eton College. [Cambridge] 1895.
Z 6621 .E85 J2 Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of Gonville and and Gaius College. 1907-1908 and Supp., 1914.
Z 6621 .C18 G6 v.1-2 Main
Z 6621 .C18 G6 Supp. Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of Jesus College, Cambridge. 1895.
Z 6621 .C18 J5 Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of Pembroke College, Cambridge, with a Handlist of the Printed Books Prior to the Year 1500. 1905.
Z 6621 .C18 P4 Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of Peterhouse. 1899.
Z 6621 .C18 P5 Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of St. John's College, Cambridge.
Z 6621 .C18 S2 Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge. 1895.
Z 6621 .C18 S5 Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of Trinity Hall. 1907.
Z 6621 ,C18 T8 Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Western Manuscripts in the Library of Christ's College, Cambridge. 1905.
Z 6621 .C18 C5 Main

Descriptive Catalogue of the Western Manuscripts in the Library of Clare College. 1905.
Z 6621 .C18 C6 Main

Western Manuscripts in the Library of Emmanuel College. 1904. Z6621 .C18 E5 Main

Western Manuscripts in the Library of Trinity College, Cambridge. 1900-1904.
Z 6621 .C18 T7 v.1-4 Main

University of London

A Guide to Archives and Manuscripts in the University of London. 1984-.
CD 1069 .L73 L67 1984 v.1 Oversize Books, Basement

Manuscript Collections in the Library of University College, London, a Handlist.
Z 6621 .L84515 Oversize Books, Basement

University of Manchester

Catalogue of a Selection of Medieval Manuscripts and Jewelled Book Covers Exhibited in the Main Library [John Rylands Library, University of Manchester]. 1939.
Z 6621 .J6 Fine Arts

University of Manchester, John Rylands Library

Descriptive Catalogue of the Latin Manuscripts in the John Rylands Library at Manchester. 1921.
Z 6621 f.M261 L3 v.1-2 Consulting Ref.

Oxford University

Catalogue of Dated and Datable Manuscripts 435-1600 in Oxford Libraries. 1984.
Z 6620 .G7 W37 v.1-2 1984 Main

Catalogue of the Collection of Medieval Manucripts Bequethed to the Bodleian Library, Oxford by James M.R. Lyell. 1971.
Z 6621 .O972 D45 Main

Online Catalogues of Western Manuscripts
The is one of the freely available databases within the Oxford Digital Library. Employing EAD (Encoded archival description) to currently added manuscripts, the project is also retrospectively converting earlier printed manuscript catalogues in Oxford libraries to digital form. Organized into medieval, 1500-1900, modern, and single item sections, it has a search engine allowing "and" and "or" searches, but not phrase searching.

Bodleian Library Image Catalogue

Early Manuscripts at Oxford University

Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Oxford Colleges. 1972-
Z 6621 .O98 v.1 1972 Main

[Catalogus Librorum Bibliothecae Publicae Quam Vir Ornatissimus Thomas Bodleius Eques Auratus in Academia Oxoniensi Nuper Institut]. The First Printed Catalogue of the Bodleian Library, 1605, a Facsimile. 1986.
Z 921 .O94 B63 1986. Main The Medieval Books of Merton College, Oxford. 1931.
Z 275 .O9 M6 Main

A Summary Catalogue of Western Manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford. 1895-1953.
Z 6621 .O96 W4 v.1-7 Main

Yale University

Yale University, Beinecke Rare Books and Manuscript Library

Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts at Yale, a Selection. 1978.
Z 6621 .Y34 C3 Fine Arts - Art

Other Institutions: Law Libraries, Societies, Private Libraries, Other National Libraries

National Library of Scotland

British Literary Manuscripts from the National Library of Scotland, An Inventory. 1987.
PR 9 .B7 v.1-3 Main (v.1 is Medieval and Renaissance)

Hanna, Ralph. Index of Middle English Prose. 1984.
PR 255 .I5 1984 handlist 1-17 Main

Inner Temple Library

Inner Temple. London. Library. Catalogue of Manuscripts in the Library of the Honourable Society of the Inner Temple. 1972.
Z 6621 .I453 v.1-3 Main

Advocates Library, Edinburgh

Mackinnon, Donald. Descriptive Catalogue of Gaelic Manuscripts in the Advocates Library, Edinburgh, and Elsewhere in Scotland. 1912.
Z 6605 .G2 M3 Main

Yorkshire Archaeological Society. Library. Catalogue of Manuscripts in the Library of the Yorkshire Archaeological Society. 1912.
Z 6621 .Y78 Main

Michigan State University