Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Medieval West - Reference Sources: The Wider World, Bibliographically

The Wider World, Bibliographically

Works needed for research by the M.S.U. community that M.S.U. Libraries do not own can sometimes be borrowed from other libraries via interlibrary loan. There are online forms to fill out for this service on the Libraries' web page under "Interlibrary Services." Be aware that rare books are not usually lent in this way.

WorldCat. The public use version of OCLC contains catalog records for books in libraries across America. Useful for bibliographic verification prior to requesting items on interlibrary loan.

Library of Congress catalogs.  The old printed National Union Catalog Pre-56 Imprints and succeeding volume are in Consulting Reference.  Main entry (author or title) and subject access.

British Library Catalogue.  The old printed British Museum/Library Catalogue volumes are in Consulting Reference.  Main entry (author or title) and subject access. 

Bodleian Library Catalogue

Bibliotheque Nationale de France Catalogue   The old printed Bibliotheque National de France catalogues are in Main Z 2161 .A26 to .A37.

Center for Research Libraries' Catalogue  CRL is a library for libraries to which M.S.U. Libraries belongs.  It has much primary source material in microformat can be borrowed through interlibrary loan.

Iter Italicum

Iter Italicum is the online equivalent of the print set of the same name found in the Main Library at Z 6611 .H8 K7, a bibliography by Paul Oskar Kristeller, a noted Renaissance scholar, published 1963 - 1992. It is the most comprehensive finding list of previously uncataloged, or incompletely cataloged, Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. It helps classicists, medievalists, and Renaissance scholars find the whereabouts of manuscripts that exist but are not in the cataloged collections of libraries and archives. Our access is through the portal ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.

Michigan State University