Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Public Health: Factors Influencing Collection Policy

Factors Influencing Collection Policy

A. Anticipated Future Trends

Because the MPH program is entirely online, print material is not as desirable for the students of the program as online resources. Combined with the increasing importance of electronic over print journals in the health sciences, this means that purchasing for the public health collection will focus most heavily on e-resources. Print materials will be purchased if electronic versions are not available, or if the materials are monographs which might be used by on-campus populations, such as undergraduates.

Broad College’s Master’s program in Healthcare Management is expected to begin sometime in 2019, and increasing purchases in this subject area will be made to support the program.

Research in public health, especially in the area of epidemiology, draws heavily on datasets collected by government entities and NGOs. As more of this data becomes publicly or commercially available, the library may consider purchasing or otherwise providing access to it for library users (most data is available by subscription). In many cases these purchases can be made in conjunction with the subject librarians in other social sciences. These purchases will be subject to considerations about format and ease of use, as well as the value added by aggregators (see Analysis of the Subject Field).

B. Relationships with Other Resources

Regional or Network Resources

MSU is a member of the Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA), formerly Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC), and the Michigan Research Libraries Triangle (MRLT). Online access to many health sciences journals is available to MSU students through BTAA  consortia agreements for journal packages. MRLT is a cooperative which maintains reciprocal borrowing agreements with the University of Michigan and Wayne State University.

The MSU collection is a component of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Greater Midwest Region (NN/LM GMR). The MSU Libraries serves as a Resource Library for the region, supporting hospital libraries and other libraries through interlibrary loan with DOCLINE and Loansome Doc service.

Other Bibliographers

Many resources used by the public health faculty and students overlap with materials collected by other bibliographers at MSU. Bibliographers for the following subject areas collect material that is useful and relevant to public health users:

Donations

Donated materials are rarely accepted unless they are historically significant or complete an incomplete series/run which the library already owns.

 

Michigan State University