Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Apparel & Textiles: Internet Resources

A selective list of books, databases, websites, etc. for conducting research related to apparel and textiles.

Internet Sites for Apparel & Textile Information

Costume Gallery

Europeana Fashion

A growing resource that will focus on materials ranging from historical dresses to accessories, photographs, posters, drawings, sketches, videos, and fashion catalogues.  Europeana Fashion is a best practice network of 22 partners, representing the leading public and private museums, archives and collections from 12 European countries. Europeana Fashion will bring together their  impressive and unique collections through Europeana (www.europeana.eu) and also through a dedicated multi-lingual fashion portal.

Fabriclink

Educational web resource for fabric and apparel information and care.

Fashion-Era

Contains over 675 illustrated pages of Fashion History, Costume History, Clothing, Fashions and Social History.

Fashion Plate Collection

Over 400 digital images from leading French, British, and American fashion journals of the 19th and early 20th century.

FiberSource

Resource for information on fibers of man-made synthetic and cellulosic polymers. Extensive links to industrial, organizational, governmental, and educational sites.

International Directory of Design

Internet Centre for Canadian Fashion and Design

Fashion and design links, a fashion glossary and a textile dictionary giving information on fabrics, including fiber content, weave, characteristics and uses.

 

London College of Fashion Paper Patterns

Collection of home dressmaking patterns showing the changing fashions of the past century, from the 1920s to the present day. It includes designs by leading designers such as Laroche, Givenchy, and Christian Dior, and about 800 patterns published by Vogue, Butterick, Woman’s Weekly, and others.

Textile Institute

Includes links to general textile information sources.

 

 

 

Need help? Contact me!

Terrie Wilson's picture
Terrie Wilson
Contact:
Art Librarian & Head, Fine Arts Library
Michigan State University
Fine Arts Library
517-884-0862
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University