Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Detailed Land and Property Information in Michigan: Aerial Views

Various resources are available for researching a particular property or building in Michigan.

Google Maps

Google Maps recently improved its imagery for the Lansing area.  Right click on a place and choose "What's Here?" to reveal the latitude/longitude coordinate.

Drag the little orange man to the road in order to see the "Street View" (limited availability)

Google Earth

Google Earth has useful functionality including the ability to instantly see your latitude/longitude coordinate and the elevation.

DTE Aerial Photograph Collection

Use Internet Explorer to access Historical Aerial Photographs from Wayne State University

Through a generous donation from DTE, Wayne State University is able to provide researchers with access to digitized copies of aerial photos of Detroit and area for the period 1949 to 1997. The collection consists of a series of low resoloution (72 dpi) and high resolution (600 dpi) pdf files. Use the links at this site to open a base map of a county for a given year and then use the links on the base map to open a photograph.

Detail from Wayne County aerial photograph, 1962

Bing Maps

Bing Maps provides different imagery

Click on "Birds Eye" view to see the an oblique view

MSU Aerial Image Archive

MSU Aerial Image Archive

The main repository of aerial photography at MSU is located in the Geography Building (formerly the Psychology Research Building) on Auditorium Road at the corner of Bogue.  The Archive contains photos back into the 1920's, some in black-and-white and some in color.  The Archive is entirely scanned and available online.  You must create an online profile for yourself in order to see the inventory and place an order.  Please contact them with any questions at (517) 355-3771

Detail from 1938 photo near Gull Lake.

Subject Guide

Kathleen Weessies's picture
Kathleen Weessies
Contact:
Geosciences Librarian; Head, Map Library
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive W308
517-884-0849
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact
Social:Twitter Page
Michigan State University