Skip to main content
Michigan State University

British Policy in the Middle East, 1914-1948: Subject Dictionaries

Subject Dictionaries

Use these to find quick facts and further reading.

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450

Border Disputes: a Global Encyclopedia

3 volumes online.  V. 1 Territorial disputes.  v. 2 Positional disputes. v. 3 Functional Disputes.  Recommend keyword search and/or/then click to see the index of the whole work along left side towards the bottom of the screen.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World

Covers 1750 to the present, providing special attention to social, economic, cultural and political topics applicable to the time. Articles on countries, regions, and ethnic groups; themes involving social history, demography, family life, politics, economics, religion, thought, education, science and technology, and culture; events such as major wars; and extensive coverage of the United States.  50 maps. Provides information about and interpretation of major developments across particular regions both salient events and regional perspectives on common themes such as politics, demography, social class, and gender.

Oxford Reference Online contains online versions of many reference works from Oxford University Press.  See link at the bottom of this page.

New A-Z of Empire, a Concise Handbook of British Imperial History  Main JV 1011 .F384 2011

Short entries for persons, places, events, with further reading references.  "Compendium of all things British imperial..." from the revolt in the American colonies in 1776 to post World War II.  Concentrates on things of empire not transition to Commonwealth.

Historical Dictionary of British Foreign Policy Main DA 45 .N48 2013

Several hundred entries on important people, places, and events in British and Northern Irish foreign policy since 1782, when the Foreign Office was created.  List of abbreviations of organizations. Chronology from 1702-2012.  Introductory essay. List of British prime ministers and foreign secretaries, with dates of service. List of permanent undersecretaries at the Foreign Office, with dates of service. 18 page overall bibliography at end of book arranged chronologically, covering 19th and 20th centuries.  Length of entries: a paragraph to a couple of pages.  All entries by the author, who is a specialist on appeasement and on British policy towards Vietnam.

Historical Dictionary of the British Empire Main DA 16 .P315 2015

Covers its history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture.

Historical Dictionary of the British Empire Main DA 16 .H56 1996 v. 1-2

See Mandate system, Mesopotamia.  Bibliographic references for further reading.

Palgrave Encyclopedia of Imperialism and Anti-Imperialism  Reference JC 359 .P335 2016 v. 1-2

Presents prominent themes, epochal events, theoretical explanations, and historical accounts of imperialism from the beginnings of modernity and the capitalist world system in the 16th c. to the present day.  Especially emphasizes 20th c. events, etc. around the world.  Imperialism defined: the military, political, legal, and/or economic control of one people's territory by another, so that the subject territory is made to relinquish resources, labor, and produce, for little or no compensation.  This work examines how imperialism has impacted societies in the Third World and how it shaped social relations and popular perceptions in the First-World countries of Europe, North America, and Japan.  Not a straight forward A-Z dictionary arrangement.  Instead there are chapters of signed entries on: biographies of significant persons, country and regional analyses, culture and the arts, history, movements/ideologies, political economy, and themes/concepts.  Many articles have lengthy further reading references.  The contributors are academics from around the world.

Longman Companion to European Decolonisation in the Twentieth Century Main JV 151 .C475 1998

Overview of the British Empire in 1945.  Chapter on the League of Nations and the mandate system.  The Empire in the Middle East.  Biographies, glossary, bibliography, maps.

Dictionary of the British Empire and Commonwealth  Main  DA 16 .P35 1996

See Iraq, Transjordan, Palestine, Mandates.  No bibliographic references.

British Empire an Encyclopedia of the Crown's Holdings, 1493-1995  Main DA 16 .S84 1996

See Iraq, Palestine, Transjordan.  Good for its lists of administrators in various places and its chronology.  No bibliographic references.

Twentieth Century Britain, an Encyclopedia  Main  DA 566 .T835 1995

See Palestine.  Has bibliographic references.

Oxford Companion to British History Main DA 34 .O93 2015

Very short entries.  No bibliographic references.

Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century British Politics Main DA 566.7 .O88 2002

See Mandates, Colonial and Palestine.  Has bibliographic references.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa  Main DS 43 .E53 2004 v. 1-4

Extensive article on Britain and the Middle East from 1914 to the present in v. 1.  Also articles on Iraq, Jordan, Mandate system, Palestine.  See the index in v. 4 under Britain.   Has bibliographic references.

Oxford Dictionary of Islam Main BP 40 .O95 2003

Egyptian Expeditionary Force in World War I: a History of the British Led Campaigns in Egypt, Palestine, and Syria  Main D 547 .S85 M67 2010

Michigan State University