Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Political Science / Public Policy Resources: Breaking News

Contents

Selected web resources for breaking news and political opinion.

Broadcast News Sources

Broadcast News Services LibGuide : A guide to new and archived broadcast news content.

News Literacy

News Literacy LibGuide.  Develop strategies to decide which news sources you trust. Start with the video introduction, then dig deeper with some curated reading materials.

Newspaper Guide

Don't forget that newspapers are a good source of breaking news.  Click on the Newspaper Guide tab at the top.

Michigan Focused

Bridge : A new online service by the Center for Michigan focusing on public policy issues.

Dome : A monthly electronic newsletter, with weekly updates, covering Michigan government and politics.

Michigan Report (1993 to date): The Gongwer News Service provides daily updates on news related to Michigan government and politics. Note: only accessible within the MSU Main Library

MIRS News (1997 to date)  (Also known as Michigan Information & Research Service News) : Provides daily coverage of Michigan government and politics.  The MSU Library is currently exploring providing access to the MSU community.  

Michigan Policy Network : A student-led public education and research program to report and organize news and information about the political process surrounding Michigan state policy issues. It is run out of the Department of Political Science at Michigan State University, with participation by students from the College of Social Science, the College of Communication, and James Madison College.  Does not require subscription.

Red Tape Blog (2005 to date) : Collects information regarding State of Michigan government news.  Sorted into various categories.

Subscription Resources

All of the resources in this section are available to the MSU community and subscribers.

CQ Weekly, October 1983 to date : The pre-eminent resource for Congress-watchers who need nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill.  Note that access to CQ Weekly through the CQ Electronic Library goes back to October 1983, an additional fifteen years more than what is available through Proquest.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive, 1923 to date : This web file provides 48 reports a year on current, hot, and controversial topics such as "Embryo Research," "Rethinking Ritalin," "Drinking on Campus," and "Subsidized Access to the Internet for the Poor." Among the file's assets are its balanced introductions to these issues; others include its generous selection of cross references to past reports, excellent tables and graphs, and clear instructions on how to cite the resource. A full text product.

Lexis Nexis Academic : Pulls together a wide variety of news sources.

National Journal : Read a leading and long-standing nonpartisan weekly on politics, policy and government.

National Journal Daily : Follow key breaking developments and issues.

National Journal Hotline : Track American politics and campaigns with coverage of each day's political news. 

Proquest Congressional Political News and Social Media : Provides access to

  • Washington Post (1987-current)
  • Roll Call newspaper (1998-current)
  • CQ Political Transcripts (1995-current), including news and media availability events, news briefings, press releases, and moreVoxGov

VoxGov.:  Collects over 50 different document types from U.S. Federal Government Sources. These include press releases, speeches, transcripts, columns, blogs, fact sheets, social media, Federal Register and Congressional documents, among many others. Materials are included from candidates in the presidential election campaign.

Selected Web Sites, A-L

ABCNews.Com

Al Jazeera America

BBC - British Broadcasting Corporation - One of the largest news gathering agencies in the world.

Black Politics on the Web.

BuzzFeed — Whatever you think about its decision to release the Trump dossier earlier this week (journalists are divided in their opinions), BuzzFeed has a growing investigative team and body of work worth attention, but it’s not always easy to find on the site. If you want to know what the team is up to you can follow its editor, Mark Schoofs, @Schoofsfeed<https://twitter.com/Schoofsfeed> on Twitter.

C-SPAN.org

Capitol Hill Blue : Because nobody's life, liberty, or property is safe while Congress is in session.... Published daily by Capitol Web. 

CNN Interactive

CNN Politics Headlines : Covers the day's top stories from Time, AP, CQ, CNN Interactive, Time Daily. 

Cook Political Report : The Cook Political Report is a non-partisan, online analysis of electoral politics.Does not include material available by subscription.

Democracy Now! : Democracy Now!’s War and Peace Report provides our audience with access to people and perspectives rarely heard in the U.S.corporate-sponsored media, including independent and international journalists, ordinary people from around the world who are directly affected by U.S. foreign policy, grassroots leaders and peace activists, artists, academics and independent analysts. In addition, Democracy Now! hosts real debates–debates between people who substantially disagree, such as between the White House or the Pentagon spokespeople on the one hand, and grassroots activists on the other.

Election DataBot Firehose.   The most interesting campaign data in near-real-time, including campaign finance filings, Google search trends, vote activity from sitting members of congress, new polls, forecasts from 538, and Cook Political Report race ratings. Here's more on how to use the Election DataBot and our sources and methodology. Courtesy of ProPublica.

FedNet : Want to know what your tax dollars are doing? Or would you rather just know what's going on in the House and Senate? FedNet is sort of the C-Span of the Web: it gives you the day's schedule of congressional hearings and events, then lets you go straight to the action, such as it is, using RealAudio for a live sound feed. You can listen in on committee hearings, get the spin via interviews with the pols, and even listen to what you missed by delving into the archives. For those who want to stay abreast of our country's history in the making -- or simply for those suffering from insomnia -- this is an indispensable site. Requires RealAudio. Source: Yahoo Internet Life.

Fox News:

Frontline : Launched more than 30 years ago, Frontline is television’s most consistent and respected investigative documentary program. Its documentaries are broadcast on PBS and are available online, along with original reporting.

The Hill / MSU access via Lexis Nexis Congressional under Political News/Hot Topics : The Hill has the largest weekly circulation on Capitol Hill and has a target audience composed of Congress, the Executive Branch, Cabinet-level departments as well as public-interest and lobbying groups. In short, the Hill is a highly focused window into the politics/workings of the legislative branch (and subsequent interactions with the executive and judicial branches) of the US federal government. While the online version contains only selected articles (the paper is subscription-based), what is posted is complete and timely, supplying much of the detail not covered anywhere else. The Hill isn't for everyone, but if you live and breathe to learn the best of "inside the beltway" news, it's certainly worth a look. 

The Intercept : A news organization launched in 2014 by legal and political journalist Glenn Greenwald, investigative journalist Jeremy Scahill and documentary filmmaker Laura Poitras.

Interpress News - Especially strong coverage of the developing world

Selected Web Sites, M-Z

Mother Jones : Founded in 1976,  a reader-supported, nonprofit news organization headquartered in San Francisco with bureaus in Washington, DC and New York City. The site includes investigative reporting as well as general reporting on topics including politics, climate change and education.

MSNBC News and Headlines

New York Times - One of our oldest news sources with reporters stationed around the globe.

PBS Frontline : Provides background information, links, chronologies, interviews, and other information corresponding to documentaries filmed for the PBS show. Visitors to the site may also view many of the documentaries online, print out transcripts, and join online discussions. Current subject categories include: biographies, business/economy, criminal justice, foreign affairs/defense, government/elections, health/science/technology, and social issues/race/religion.

PBS NewsHour : Archived transcripts of political commentary from Jim Lehrer's Newshour program. Beside each transcript are links to pages providing ancillary information on that week's topic. Next to a recent discussion on the presidential races there were more than a dozen links to interviews, campaign websites, and other articles about the candidates. 

PoliticalWire.Com 

Politico 

ProPublica : Founded 10 years ago by a former managing editor of The Wall Street Journal, ProPublica is a nonprofit investigative news site based in New York City. In 2010 ProPublica was the first online publication to win a Pulitzer Prize and has earned two more since, as well as a long list of other prestigious awards.

Real Clear Investigations — The  investigative arm of Real Clear Politics. It is mostly an aggregator of investigative reporting, but has also begun conducting original investigations.

RealClear Politics : Everything the inquiring political mind is likely to inquire about is pretty much covered at RealClear Politics (RCP). RCP's main page offers a great selection of published articles (updated daily) from the media, derived from think tanks and political pundits. A links page provides you with an overwhelming collection of links to nationally known syndicated columnists' commentaries and links to an extensive variety of political information sites on the Web. The Sunday Morning Talk Show circuit is also represented here with RCP's own analysis of how interesting or boring they found each show to be along with partial transcripts of the interviews with the political guests. Additionally, the latest presidential polling results are presented from no less than 13 different polling organizations; and not just the candidate vs. candidate polls, but intriguing polls like Bush vs. Gore in the "Three States That Will Decide The Election." RCP calls itself the website for the "political junkie;" its hard to argue with that!

Reuters - One of the leading global news services.

Roll Call Online : Since its inception, Roll Call, the newspaper of Capitol Hill since 1955, has written about and for the US Congress.

Stateline.Org : Your Source for State Government News  

Townhall.Com : Current events and opinions from the Conservative Point of View. 

U.S. News & World Online

Washington Post : Buried within the Washington Post web site is a wonderful search engine that allows one to type in the name of the country and voila, it provides a selection of Washington Post and Associated Press current news items, CIA World Factbook excerpts, and Internet Links.

Subject Guide

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University