Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Political Science / Public Policy Resources: Open Access Info

Scholarly Communication Crisis

Learn more about the crisis in Scholarly Communication.

In short, as long as faculty sign away their publication rights to commercial publishers, prices keep going up and there will be a time when academic libraries will have to discontinue subscribing.

What is Open Access?

Open Access (OA) is free, immediate, permanent online access to the full text of research articles for anyone, webwide.

There are two roads to OA:

(1) the "golden road" of OA journal-publishing , where journals provide OA to their articles (either by charging the author-institution for refereeing/publishing outgoing articles instead of charging the user-institution for accessing incoming articles, or by simply making their online edition free for all);

(2) the "green road" of OA self-archiving, where authors provide OA to their own published articles, by making their own eprints free for all.

The two roads to OA should not be confused or conflated; they are complementary. (This site is focussed largely on the green road, because it is the fastest and surest way to reach immediate 100% OA; but the green road might eventually lead to gold too.)

More information

Resources

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.  Nothing listed under criminal justice, criminology, or forensic science as of November 2009.

Directory of Open Access Journals.  This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. As of November 2009, there are 4454 journals in the directory.  If you search criminal justice, you can find 5 journals listed under categories such as social and public welfare, law, and sociology.  If you search criminology, there are 15 journals listed.  Under forensic science, there are 3 journals listed.

Open J-Gate.  An electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. Launched in 2006, Open J-Gate is the contribution of Informatics (India) Ltd to promote OAI. Open J-Gate provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. Open J-Gate is also a database of journal literature, indexed from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at Publisher sites. 

Peer-Reviewed Open Access Journals.  Nothing listed yet under criminal justice, criminology, or forensic science.  There are a few journals listed under social and public welfare. 

Sherpa/Romeo.  Use this site to find a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library....As the open access movement grows and prospers, more and more repository servers come into being which use the "Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting" (OAI-PMH) for providing their contents. BASE collects, normalises, and indexes these data....In comparison to commercial search engines, BASE is charcterised by the following features:

  • Intellectually selected resources
  • Only document servers that comply with the specific requirements of academic quality and relevance are included
  • A data resources inventory provides transparency in the searches
  • Discloses web resources of the "Deep Web", which are ignored by commercial search engines or get lost in the vast quantity of hits.
  • The display of search results includes precise bibliographic data
  • Several options for sorting the result list
  • "Refine your search result" options (authors, subject headings, year, resources and language)

OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open archive resources that was built by harvesting from open archive collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster boasts more than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.

ROARMAP tracks the growth of institutional self-archiving policies.

 

Subject Guide

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University